I am a travelling massage therapist

in #psychology6 years ago

What are you looking for_ (1).png
Border.png

The most beautiful thing about all health educators is they are incredibly passionate about teaching their skillful practice.

I started my massage therapy journey in a pretty giant way. I went to National Holistic Institute of Massage Therapy as my introduction to massage. It's a 900-hour program that is like a Costco "try-me-out" kinda program that covers everything from Traditional Chinese Medicine to Body wraps and hot stone massage. This allowed me to be educated by many different perspectives and how each therapist pours their love into each of their quality of touch.

I didn't know what I wanted after I left the Navy.

I didn't really try anything else, because I didn't have much motivation for anything.

I went for a Tesla interview and the interviewers were all former US Navy Nukes, just like me. The attitude really bothered me, (You can't really get along with many ET's in the Navy because of the strong ego that puts them on a very high ivory tower. ) I didn't want to work in an environment like this anymore. After that first interview, I sort of just gave up. I saw money and was offered money, but I just didn't know what the hell I would use it for.

My mental illness lead me to re-reading my tiny memo book I kept as a diary while I was deployed underwater for months.

All I could think about while I was under pressure was how much life I was going to live after. How life is an open dooooooor but it reallly wasn't how I imagined it after I reached my reality. I didn't do a single damn thing. I was too bitter. Too angry. Too ashamed. I didn't want to be alive because my single most important purpose of running nuclear reactors was taken away from me.

IMG_0498.JPG
Border.png

First thing on the to-do list was to become a massage therapist.

At the time of writing this entry in my diary, I wanted to be a good husband, a good partner, that could take care of his loved ones. I didn't think I would ever go to school for this.

I learned how to love.

That includes a practice for self love, and a practice to share my love with other people. The process of listening to my own breath and also listening to other heart beats around me. Focussing my energy on observing auras people emit. Practicing imagination on the different chakra wheels and feeling the torque of their spin as I massage my clients.

I entered each world of various modalities with an open heart and mind. I wanted to know how people could heal people. The world as I knew it had pharmaceuticals that adventure capitalists were making a bunch of money on for numbing people problems. But no one really taught me how people are the magical remedy for healing all illnesses.

We start healing when our body and consciousness are on board for the commitment to going on this adventure.

We heavily rely on instant relief from medicine to the point our combined power of mind and spirit have forgotten how to fly.

IMG_0494.JPG
Border.png

Massage therapy has given me a practice to facilitate healing for my awesome bodywork partners.

What started to happen was I became very meditative in my process of healing another person. I started to feel my spiritual energy elevate through my touch and breathing that had been following my partner's as I worked through my bodywork.

I began healing myself without really thinking about it

I would close my eyes and smile throughout my whole bodywork session. My hands were guided by my intuition and practice among the most wonderful mentors I could ever ask for. I felt calm, peaceful, and with just one intention on my focus.

This space is for you to heal, and I will protect you from all that is outside, so you can listen to what is happening inside.

When you care too much, you get really burned out really fast.

So I stopped doing bodywork. I really felt like I exhausted myself inside. I needed to heal a bigger void inside my heart. I didn't know what it was.

IMG_0492.JPG
Border.png

The world outside of English is extremely facinating and worth listening to!

I learned to communicate in Vietnamese when it came to ordering food, motorcycle maintenance, and general tiny things that really sparkle your wholesome self among locals when you're able to speak their mother tongue It does make your travels an extremely memorable journey when you give it your shameless effort to learn the language the locals communicate their hearts in.

When I lived in Thailand, I was able to reconnect to my culture. I had a chance to go to school for a week in Chiang Mai for Thai Massage. It was felt like a refresher since I've had a similar course with NHI. The coolest part of learning in this school was I able to say anatomic words in Thai and phrases I didn't know for how to tell my clients to be prone, sideline, or supine. It was a rewarding experience to know these Thai words for the first time. To learn a new prayer that is deeply set into Thai culture.

People heal people. Whether it's because you've developed a conscious that speaks another language in your mind. Or because someone encouraged you to become fearless. Or when your grandmother prays and prays for your safe journeys where ever you may be in your life.

The world is a big place to learn how to heal. I wish you all will get a chance to experience this process. I love you all :)

footer

Sort:  

What an incredible change for you. 900 hours sounds really comprhensive and it sounds like you have find your lifes' calling. I wish you lived closer so you could come and give me a massage - Icould do with some of your lovely healing right now!! What a gorgeosu post. xxx

It truly was a magnificent 180 degrees flip on my life and I saw the other side of the coin. Balinese massage is amazing! I really love their oils, I wish I had bought some before I left. :(

this is a special post @poodai ! i understand just what you say, as I sometime give energy healings.. I always look forward to it because its so clear that we both get healing in the process. I also studied tai massage in chiang mai many years ago and take with me that knowledge of meridians as they are so good to really know..
So...
Congratulations @poodai your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$1.33 as part of the @ecoTrain minnow support project. Your upvote will come soon!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

Wow! Thank you @eco-alex for this! It's always incredibly flattering when you're part of my audience. You've lived quite a life that shows me that I am barely on the starting line to my life. I will keep running :)

"Its not a sign of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society."
Once again we share so many parallels.

It's your life, you can be proud you went your own way. The universe is cheering over your choices, and many will be healed through your presence, focus, wisdom, love and skill. You included <3

Your words will sink into the deepest depths of my soul. I will keep on this path with tenacity because I want to believe that this is truly who I am. Thank you :)

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 17000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 18000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @poodai! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!