You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Giving People What They Want vs. What They Need

I have struggled with this for years. Not so much pretending, but being blunt and dealing with the fallout that inevitably results. Every now and again I find myself compelled out of compassion to interject where it (my view) is not welcome.

I figured out at an early age most were not strong enough to be my friend. One has to be willing to shatter their mask to be that close to me. Doesn't mean they have to agree with my assessments, but they have to be strong enough to withstand them should the topic come up that they disagree with.

Due to this, I find that I keep my circle small. I have not the time nor patience for most acquaintances except where it is necessary for everyday happenings to occur. If I see that one clings to their masks, I usually will figure out ways to minimize my interactions with them so as not to waste my time and energy, as well as help keep those with ill will towards me to a minimum.

Sort:  

I can relate, it's similar for me ;) It's can be a waste when realness and honesty is not the path they want to walk with you :/