You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 33 | Visits from Lost Loved Ones & Out-of-Body Experiences

in #psychology6 years ago

Wow! This is a spine-chilling topic, I must admit. From my time of conscious scientific understanding, I have always had the notion that, indeed, the supernatural, abstract, unnatural (for lack of another suited adjective) does exist.

I've been unable to interpret ghostly experiences and encounter in time past, but this article sure gives me a new perspective as to the role of brain-glitches and hallucinations in what we visually perceive and interpret as extra-terrestrial, ghosts, OBE's and supernatural occurrences.

However, from a religious logic, it is generally accepted that the world is immersed in a blend between the natural and supernatural.

About ghosts and spine chilling encounters, I have had my fair share too @abigail-dantes. My mother died last year after struggling with health issues....and some weeks, running into months after her burial, I started sensing or hearing her voice. But like your paragraph below eloquently put it, it must have been harmless hallucinations on the part of my grieving brain.

In cases where people hallucinate faces, for example, an abnormal activation is seen in the inferior temporal cortex, in the same way that those who hallucinate voices would have the same sort of activation in the regions involved in processing speech.

But then, the truth still remains that science and psychology still has a long way to go in completely convincing all and sundry, most especially scientific novices that what they assume to be supernatural, ghostly or otherwise, are merely hallucinations activated by brain-glitches or a starved and stuttering brain.

Very interesting piece here @abgail-dantes. Meanwhile, you seem to be intent on making us resigned to expecting your posts in intervals of one month, yes? 😜😜

Thanks for telling me how young you are. Glad to have you back (I'm guessing its momentarily though). Trust the family is doing great........Lots of love, Abi.

Sort:  

My dearest @rickie 😍

You have no idea how these following words made me happy! It just made the time I spent putting this piece of work together worthwhile! Thank you so much for your constant kindness :)

but this article sure gives me a new perspective as to the role of brain-glitches and hallucinations in what we visually perceive and interpret as extra-terrestrial, ghosts, OBE's and supernatural occurrences.

I am sorry to hear about your mum! When my dad passed away years ago, for a couple of times I heard his laughter. It was SO real! It was as if he were there next to me.

psychology still has a long way to go in completely convincing all and sundry, most especially scientific novices that what they assume to be supernatural, ghostly or otherwise, are merely hallucinations activated by brain-glitches or a starved and stuttering brain

This is a very interesting observation Rickie. From a psychological perspective, for example, I don't think it is our job to convince people about the neurobiological nature of their grieving-hallucinations. In the case of someone like Mrs. Toben, for example - which reflects so many others - she was happy and comforted by her late husband's visits. There would be no good out of saying, "it is just a neural glitch mrs. Toben". At the same time it is not a helpful thing to encourage it!

I will do my best to post the sequel for this series next Friday! Lots of love to you too my dear :)

I totally agree with you @abigail-dantes. It would be needless being a form of kill-joy, for those who derive some form of relief from what they see and assume...by simply telling them, hey "its just your neural organ that is misbehaving".
Good to know there'd be a sequel. Waiting for Friday then. I'm guessing you are close to being fully back, yes?

Hey @rickie :)

From June to August I will be back on posting my Friday posts! For sure :) Until June, I will see what I can do. But, I sure miss writing for Steemit on a weekly basis and interacting with you guys, from whom I always learn SO much! ❤