You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The ONLY reason you lack confidence (and how to fix it)

in #psychology6 years ago

Maintaining confidence in trying new things is a daily struggle for me. I recently joined SteemIt and started investing in crypto recently. While I don't doubt the potential of these things, I find myself surrounded by people who adhere to the traditional mindset of working 9 to 5, and anything else is either a scam or "gambling." This type of ancient thinking is disheartening. At times the peer pressure gets to me, so I start giving up on my dreams, thinking this is all a waste of time. Its really sad when the people who are supposed to be closest to me don't trust my judgment.

Sort:  

I've been through the exact same thing even with close family members and indeed it's very disheartening as you said. But at the end of the day it's your life and your dreams. Those who are criticizing you are either outright haters or maybe they even have good intentions but they clearly are not keeping up with the times. If I were you I'd just explain 9-5 is just as much of a pyramid scheme as crypto or anything they consider a "scam". There's a hierarchy and bosses, managers, and then regular employees under their power, who are doing nothing but making their superiors rich, rather than themselves. How that is any different than a pyramid scheme is beyond me.