You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The relationship between exercise and anxiety: from someone who has been there.

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

I've read before that exercise is what's called a "keystone habit" that will help you improve in other areas of life - it will give you strength, willpower, determination, etc. that will cascade into improving other things - such as anxiety as you mentioned. Great post.

Sort:  

Really? That's such a good way of thinking about it actually, and really applies to me as well. At my peak, I was exercising lots, as well as keeping on top of uni work, an internship, and of course I even started eating better because you don't want to waste your time at the gym! Interestingly, when I was in the process of moving and didn't have gym access for a while, I felt like my life was falling apart a little. My anxiety got worse but my motivation went down too, and I stopped eating as well either. I do think it's such an important thing to find time for if you possibly can.