You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 42 | Me & The Uber Driver + The Art of Listening

in #psychology6 years ago

Thanks for this @abigail-dantes. I never would've guessed English was your second language. This article is very insightful, and we would do well to listen to others with more deliberation. So much gets lost in communication between emotions, prejudice, ect. Breakdowns happen too easily.

Your mention of language barriers remind me of when I applied for a delegation here on Steemit by leaving a comment. The person who was offering it was from Germany, and I was the only person who left an English comment explaining why he should delegate to me. Later I was curious as to what the other people said, so I went back to the post and chose to see it in English. Not only did it translate their comments, it showed me mine differently. For instance instead of saying I don't upvote my own posts it said I don't know my own posts and all sorts of other ridiculous stuff. Needless to say I didn't get the delegation haha!

Sort:  

Ow ... This is an excellent example of broken communication getting in the way of the pursuit of a goal! Thank you for taking the time to share it here with us dear @snowpea. It is very relevant to this discussion.

ps: I am sorry you didn't get the delegation :/

So much gets lost in communication between emotions, prejudice, ect.

So true! Although, I believe this is something that can be avoided within families, and close friends. We just have to start making the effort! :)

All the best to you and you little one :*
Thank you for taking the time to stop by once again!

Anytime! I enjoy reading your articles. :)