You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 33 | Visits from Lost Loved Ones & Out-of-Body Experiences

Wow. There is so much here. It is sweet that the brain may be kicking in these visions to help with the grieving process.

I worked at Stanford University at the Sleep Epidemiological Research center for almost a year. I learned a lot about sleep paralysis and the state between wake and sleep that produces these kinds of hallucinatory events. Very interesting.

Vaguely related, this is the difference between hallucinations and psychedelic visuals. So many people call psychedelic drugs "hallucinogenic" and that is not accurate. Which brings me to being perplexed about Lewis Carrol - I thought he was an LSD user and got a lot of his fantastical ideas from LSD. I did not know about his migraines.

Also very sweet you were able to comfort your little brother 💕

Sort:  

Hello @soulsistashakti,

Thank you for commenting my dear :) Yes! It is all very interesting indeed, there are many topics within my field that fascinates me, but this one is among those placed right at the top of the list. Have you written about your experience in Standford here on your blog? I do remember you studied psychology, correct?

Thank you for the information you have added here to our discussion about the accuracy of the use of "hallucinogenic" when referring to psychedelic drugs! :)

Ps: I hope your friend and her mother are ok. I saw your comment on my previous post and haven't sat down to reply to it. I am sorry. But heart and thoughts go to you all!! All the best to you. I wish you a wonderful week ahead.

💕

No worries ever! I'm glad you had the time to reply. I was a women's studies/psychology double major in college. I had to drop at the end of my 2nd year due to illness...but it gave me a solid foundation on which to continue my own self-education. When I returned to college many years later it was for music technology which was practically used in my career as a recording and performing artist :)