You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 42 | Me & The Uber Driver + The Art of Listening

in #psychology6 years ago

You write well and about very interesting stuff!

I laughed here, although it's sad as well:

“My ex-wife is Brazilian too, you know, I always have problems with Brazilians”.

So recognizable, and I always could feel the rant that came afterwards, I've had to deal with a few of these too. For some it's very hard to listen and one detail of a person suddenly gets blown up to epic proportions.

Glad it gave you input for this gorgeous piece of writing though <3 Trying to listen (read!) a person as if they were 100% new to you can be hard. And although I live through mane misconceptions people have about me (my health in particular) and I know how frustrating it can be if people judge you for one thing, I still see myself filling in assumptions about people regularly.

The thing is - I'm aware of that now, and I'm often able to correct it. But it's a long and slow process.

Looking forward to your next post! Gave you a follow :-)