You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 27 | Discussing Misconceptions about Psychology

in #psychology6 years ago

It is true that there are many people who weave misconceptions about psychology but it is because of the misinformation that exists on this subject, but psychology has different focuses, psychology is from childhood development to how beings feel, think or act. Today many people go to psychological help due to the many sorrows that overwhelm them, seeking help to cope with the stress, exhaustion and pressures that the world around us currently gives us, which indicates that psychology can not then be only for people who are mentally ill and as for the taking of antidepressants I do not agree, that is a short-term solution and what people who are having a depressive picture really need is a long-term solution that helps them recover and that solution is therapy cognitive, it helps them recognize and confront the causes that gave rise to depression and teaches them techniques that will help them face a new episode.

Positive psychology is very beautiful and a different way of seeing psychology, I have always heard and seen that psychology studies the negative aspects of a person but positive psychology studies the positive of a person as his: emotional intelligence, his wisdom, creativity , humor among others. It is worth mentioning Martin Seligman, since he was the one who gave the definitive impulse for the creation of positive psychology. Very good your posts are very informative, this type of information is very necessary to be able to change the way of psychology and be able to help and help others, thanks.

One thing that would not change in my life would be to have left my parents' house, I was very happy but decided to become independent and that made me mature, in my house I had everything and they did everything to me, once I left there it cost me a lot adapt to my new life, but I learned to give value to things and earn them and that did me a lot of good, I feel that I grew up.

Sort:  

Hello @stefany12, thank you for taking the time to read and for contributing to this discussion with your ample understanding about psychology. Let me just say that I absolutely love the thing you chose not change in your life. It is a huge step moving out of our parent's home; but, despite of all the challenges we face it definitely is an invaluable experience in the lives of those who do it.

All the best for you :)

Thank you, leaving our parents' womb is very important as we learn to value things and we also learn to value our parents and see the great sacrifice they make for us, it is an exceptional experience