What If Dreams Are A Dimension To Our Other Life?

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Dreams are amazing because, it's something all human beings do, but since the beginning of time, have never been able to really explain!

We all dream. And most of the time, dreams are extremely random and nonsensical.

magicians_nologos_5.5_7.jpg

But then you have dreams that are so real that you still feel them when you wake up! Dreams where, you swear feel so familiar, that you're sure you have been there before. There's a pull. Like you belong there.

Is this just me? I don't believe that to be true.

What's even more mind-boggling is, as advanced as our technology is, we still have no real idea what dreams really are.

Some theories proposed:

  • Dreams are where our souls go to connect to the universe.
  • It's a psychological release.
  • We experience another life in a parallel world.

This is something that has been on my mind for most of my life. Since I was young, I have experienced "Lucid Dreaming."

(Lucid dreaming is when you are aware you are dreaming while in a dream.)

lucid-cover.jpg

The feeling of being in the dream world and KNOWING you have full control of that world is unexplainable. It's probably why I slept so much as a kid.

But as I grew older the lucid dreaming became less and less. But I never stopped wondering about how it's possible we visit this other world every night, and then can barely remember being there when we wake?

And why is it that we feel so connected to this other world? There have been times I literally was depressed from waking up from certain dreams! Doing everything I could to get back there!

Is this why most of the time we cant remember our dreams? Most of the amazing dreams I've ever had, I can only remember in parts. Maybe we need to forget so that we can move on with our life and be productive! Cause being in that world is way more exciting, satisfying, and fun that the alternative.

Maybe it's neurological. Maybe it's metaphysical. Maybe it's spiritual... Or it could be a mix of all three.

The truth is, when it comes to dreams, there are far more questions than there are answers. I don't really offer any resolve here. I just ponder what could be!

But until we actually have answers, I want to believe that we are living another life outside of the mundane, cruel, superficial, bullshit we dredge through everyday here on this plane of existence!

(If you dug this groovy post even a little bit my lovelies, this feline would so appreciate an UPVOTE and a RESTEEM)

Sort:  

I believe dreams are our subconcious/unconscious mind, our core human desires speaking to us. We are essentially talking to ourselves. They seem nonsensical but there is method. www.dreammoods.com. Check it out. I'm a Carl Jung fan, and he is a member of the pyschologists who developed these definitions.

Here's a hint though. Your subconscious likes plays on words.

Example: if you see a badger in your dream it can mean that you are being "badgered" in your

I've been to that site. It has a lot of cool ideas. But sometimes I feel like our dreams go beyond just being an outlet for the sub-conscious mind. I could be wrong. Obviously these are all just theories. But I'm always interested in what people believe about this.

Dreams are amazing. Occasionally it happens to me that I wake up and this world feels like a dream. It takes 10 minutes to shake the feeling off. It is indeed a strange feeling. I do believe in alternative universes and past lives even though today science can't prove any of them.

But, just because science can't prove it, it does not mean it does not exist. We just did not find a way to prove it exists. Who knows what future might bring. Maybe all we are dreaming is true and memories from our past lives trapped in our mind.

Until we can prove all we can do is keep DREAMING. :)

Great subject. It really intrigued my mind. :)

I love science, but I also believe some things can't be proven with the technology of its time. 200 years ago we didn't know about antibiotics.

Yep, we have come a long way, but we have less knowledge of after-life, dreams, universe than the civilizations which 2000 years before us today. They were way more spiritual than us. That is one interesting subject to discuss. :)

Dreams are super cool. I believe they are the result of our imagination given creative freedom as we are not awake to actively control it

Truth never damages a cause that is just.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Now you're just being random old man

Nice post.. I can sleep anytime I want and you know I dream most of the time. I have noticed I dream a lot when I am stressed about something...

Maybe that is your escape? I do that too.

There are dreams that are so close to what has happened in real life, or so vivid that they feel real even when you wake up and it takes a moment to decipher reality and dream. They are indeed a lot of unexplained elements and questions to ponder.

Lucid dreaming is a connectivity between the conscious and unconscious minds; to some degree. I have gone beyond that with purposeful dreaming, where the images were complete and in real time.

In one such occurrence, I dreamed I was walking on the road where I typically walked almost every day, at the time. My foot was injured, so I was missing out. I went into a visualization during the day that led to a six-minute dream. (difference on digital clock). I walked in my dream to the point that would have taken six minutes to arrive.

Once awaken I went to the toilet. I was surprised that I had no pain or discomfort with my ankle and foot. From the bathroom, I went downstairs and outside. My ankle and foot were healed.

That's really interesting! I think I'm still a novice at this point.

Nose around my website (link on my blog page) and then DM me on Discord if you want to learn more.

dreams to me are my mind trying to work through crap in a weird way. Sometimes I remember a bit and learn something.. sometimes not.

Hi @suicidalviral, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Great post, I like it!
I don't think dreams are another dimension or anything like that. Usually, dreams reflect elements which happened to us while we were awake and elements from our mental state. Carl Jung writes about it in his book in great detail :)

Please check my new post, I think you will like it!
@paps

Dreams are fascinating. I have read about and studied them off and on for years. (I was a psychology major in college ... so this is a natural interest for me.) And lucid dreams are in a class of wonder all their own.

I had a dream several nights ago that I wouldn't categorize as a lucid dream -- only toward the very end did I realize I was dreaming. But it was, start to finish, one of those dreams you mention which is so real it's like you are there.

I woke up sobbing uncontrollably (scaring my husband half to death!!) -- because in it, I was walking in the desert near our home -- in a place where we often walk our dogs ... when suddenly one of my most beloved pets from decades ago came running past me, turned around and scurried straight into my arms.

He died nearly 20 years ago ... but in this dream I was able to hold him again. I was able to hold him again. And that memory, that dream, will likely stay with me forever. I cannot imagine a better gift.

I enjoyed your post ... this post ... tremendously. It may even be part of the message.

(UVd, RSd, & Followed)