You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Modern Society Obsessed With Short Term Pleasure?

in #psychology7 years ago

I am commenting on how the changing work landscape and such is going to require shifts in how humans experience pleasure and derive meaning.

I have to disagree on that. These things are not as flexible to change as you appear to be suggesting. These things are pretty much hard wired into our psychology but I am happy to look at any literature that suggests otherwise - I just haven't seen it yet.

I find addiction to be much more complicated than you make it out to be.

In what way?

What do you find puzzling​?

The idea that you think think that addiction and addictive behaviours are not a problem and that somehow AI and changes to the work environment would make them less damaging.

That is a fundamental misunderstanding of what addiction is and means.

Sort:  

The underlying fundamentals may remain the same, how exactly we derive pleasure and meaning may very well have to change. Forces of the mass are stronger than anything.

About addiction, I don't know how much I can accurately distill into typed text - writing is not my strong suit. There is simply less concern about the safe addict in a society with so much automation, universal basic income, isolation from dangers. - don't let this diminish the problems with addiction, I just do not view it as something that can be tackled head on.

I think I see what you are saying -i.e. people will have less responsibilities?

Yes in a way. Focus on providing help and stop wasting money "punishing" people who have damaged their pleasure systems.

Yes like more rehabilitation facilities. I think the war on drugs has been a massive waste of money not to mention a really destructive force in society.