What's Going On In Your Brain When A Song Gets Stuck In Your Head? (Part I)

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Getting a song stuck in my head to the point I couldn't stop humming it for days or even weeks in extreme cases, was an issue I had to deal with pretty often as a teenager. There were days I felt unbearable stress because of it and I didn't know what to do about it. I would sweat, panic and even lose sleep at times (I am kidding you NOT).

 

The fact that I was ashamed to discuss about it with family or friends, since I felt like it was so weird they would think I am crazy, stressed me out even more. I was desperately trying to find answers as to why this happened to me so often, but it wasn't an easy task. 

Growing up in Greece during the mid-90's  – way before the evolution of the Internet in this country – didn't make things any better either. So, the torture would continue for almost three years (on and off). 

Learning About It

As a first year student in Law School  back in 1999, I finally had access to the Internet. However, after making detailed research on the matter, I realized that the whole thing wasn't as simple as one might think when they ponder the matter. I had managed though to ease my mind after several stressful battles with numerous songs that I didn't even like! 

To get a better idea of what I was going through, think of the following song playing in your head again and again for weeks. What a TORTURE, huh? 

Science Has An Explanation 

Apparently,  this is not as uncommon as I thought as a teenager. It pretty much happens to everyone, whether we notice it or not. 

There have been many studies and detailed researches done throughout the years on this topic but the conclusions and opinions vary greatly. One of the many people who tried to study and find concrete answers to the mystery behind this phenomenon is Dr. Vicky Williamson of Goldsmiths, University of London.

Dr. Williamson’s impetus to do this study came from personal experience as well; upon seeing a shoebox with the word Faith written on it, she recalled the title track of George Michael’s solo album from the late 1980s. The familiar melody of the song was stuck in her head for a whole afternoon until she decided to hide the box.

Through the website earwormery.com, Dr. Williamson urged the public to describe similar experiences to the one she had gone through. In partnership with the radio station BBC6 Music, she therefore decided to investigate what was behind the melodic mystery. She named the study the "Earworm Project."

Is the Earworm Effect Real? 

The word earworm was introduced into the American vocabulary by Professor James Kellaris from the University of Cincinnati, one of the first scientists researching in-depth on the subject. Earworm is the translation of the German Ohrwurm and the term describes the experience of having a certain tune stuck in your head. According to the Earworm Project, we get to learn valuable information about the phenomenon and how it works:

Often a person experiencing an earworm has no idea why a tune has popped into their head and has little control over how long it continues. A recent poll suggested over 90% of the population experience them at least once a week, so it seems like having the odd earworm is perfectly normal. But 15% of people classified their earworms as “disturbing” and in a different study one-third of the people described their earworms as unpleasant. This means that although earworms are essentially harmless they can get in the way of what you are trying to do and can stop you from thinking straight.

Several individuals who took part in the project explained that they usually remember a certain song or part of a song when they face stressful situations. 

One woman said that by the age of 16, when she had become very stressed during final exams, she was literally “haunted” by a particular song (“Nathan Jones” by The Supremes) that has followed her into her adult life, especially during stressful periods such as her wedding day and the birth of her first child. 

After carefully considering the results of her study, Dr. Williamson concluded...

To Be Continued 


References:  

Science Project: Is the Earworm Effect Real?

Why some songs get stuck in your head

The Science Behind Insanely Catchy Choruses

Music Psychology – with Dr Victoria Williamson

Images / Gif: 1 2 3 4 5

 

Sort:  

Our brains don't like things that are unsolved. One thing that always works for me when I have a song stuck in my head, is to listen to the whole song. I'm eager to read more about what you are writing on this subject though :)

This is a test comment, notify @kryzsec on discord if there are any errors please.


GuidelinesProject Update

Being A SteemStem Member

@tkappa, thank you for this: now I have Macarena in my head. I will have to banish the earworm by listening to some real music.

Seriously though, your article is very informative, and I cannot wait for the follow-up. Man's search for answers to the most mundane phenomena is amazing. Who would have thought that someone would want to know why a song gets stuck in one's head?

I am a little bit crazy, therefore I will share my way of getting rid of a song: I sing it out loud, dance with the rhythm, and then deliberately change the music in my head, like one would physically replace one CD with another.

I will have to banish the earworm by listening to some real music

That is the only solution to the problem, dear ;)

A cliff hanger! Oh, my! I'm on the edge of my seat.

I am sure you can hang in there for another 24 hours (when Part II lands), Lord Vader :P lol

Well, I can endure bathing in ice water too. But there is a thermal spa just down the street.

A damn good thermal spa for that matter. For the ones who don't have the privilege living in Loutraki...please take a look!
0a93671f3fd2945e381f047eec008e7c_124539.jpg

You know that's one of my favourite posts of yours ;)!!!
Finally I found out why certain songs I am obsessed with at certain periods of my life, and other can't stand even for a nanosec!!

And you will know even more when part II comes tomorrow, sis ;)

Phew. It's a relief that there is some science that says I'm not 'crazy' for getting notoriously annoying earworms, the worst being of songs that I don't even enjoy, or outright just hate. So happy to find our common interests in science and psychology. Cheers buddy, you've got yourself a new follower.

Thank you, mate. I will check your posts and upvote when I have some power again :)

Hello @tkappa
Songs relief our mind only in 2 minutes. It's a great power of music. I like to heard songs. Thanks for this post. Namaste!!!

You are welcome :)

PS. I am not upvoting as I am left with 60% something voting power and I am trying to lift myself off from the dirty ground again ;)

Sometimes I like to annoy my friends by sending them some weird song that I know will become an earworm for them :D!

Streaming Spotify can help - or make it worse by replacing one annoying song with another.