Sort:  

Only a pleasure! Thanks for reading ;)

I came from a dysfunctional family and I was abused physically and emotionally as a child. Nevertheless, I graduated from a top university and I also helped students to get into top universities.

The problem with irresponsible parents is: you can change your job, your friends, your boss, but you cannot change your parents. It's worse if you come from a Confucian culture, where elders are assumed to be good and should be respected regardless. Meanwhile, people all over the world celebrate Father's Day and Mother's Day as if everything is fine and dandy for everybody. But you know the divorce rates keep on rising.

Parents can choose to have or not have children. Children don't get to choose to be born or to choose their parents. Or do they? Some people say it's "karma" from past lives. That's hard to verify, because I don't remember my past lives (if any).

By the way, Hitler was abused by his father as a child. Glad I didn't turn out like him.

I'm sorry, I only saw this reply now. Well done for being able to turn your situation around into a positive by graduating and being able to learn from it. That's a great example that adds to my story about resilience.
Thanks for reading and replying ;-)