You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 33 | Visits from Lost Loved Ones & Out-of-Body Experiences

in #psychology6 years ago

There was a period of my life (about 10 years ago) when I was really stressed for a particular matter. I guess all this stress somehow manifested in a series of sleep disorders/problems, starting with auditory hallucinations, then sleep paralysis, lucid dreaming and so many other neat things. One of those times I also had an OBE experience which I found it to be quite... exciting :) At first I decided to "explore" my new found ability but only moments later I chickened out and decided to return back to my body!

The sleep problems and weird experiences continued (on a daily basis!) and at some point I thought I was getting crazy and I was about to ask medical help, since schizo runs in our DNA. But before doing that I decided to do a bit of googling only to find out thousands of other people had the same problems and essentially I had entered a cycle. Everytime I went to bed I was getting anxious that I might have a weird experience, and that anxiety was largely what caused the sleep problems! The peace of mind that I am not crazy just stressed before going to bed was enough to break the cycle. I do get some weird experiences every now and then but nothing serious :)

Sort:  

Wow @trumpman! Yes, you see ... my two OBE experiences took place in a particularly stressful time of my life too. Back then I also had horrendous night terrors. My other OBE was what neuropsychology calls autoscopy. Again, it was in the middle of the night. I woke up and sat up on my bed, facing the end of the bed. Just to see myself there standing staring back at me. That was super surreal! It was also very brief.

Most of the accounts I have seen in the literature start with what you said, people find it exciting at first. But then, get frightened eventually!

I should challenge you to write a post about some of the weird experiences you go through every now and then. What do you think about that? One post! It is a challenge. And don't forget to tag me 😎

What about a series post? :D

I say YES! 😉

Tea with mint - the best soothing before bedtime.

Tea as in caffeine? Before bed?

Yes. Tea based on peppermint acts as a soothing.