You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 26 | Depression – Where to Draw the Line?

in #psychology6 years ago

Thank you for a well detailed post. Beauty of Psychology in golden words.
I will like to say about mild depression. I have noticed that there are times I had issues which caused me to be depressed, heart broken and weak. But I have discovered at those times too, that talking with my Dad about it gives me assurance that I will be fine so far he gives me some words or calms me down based on his experience and wisdom.
I will like to extrapolate this to the fact that their might be a way in which parents to child(dad-son, mum -daughter) can help their children in such state of mild depression.
I think geographical location also contributes to how and what depresses people.

Do you know hardly will a typical Nigerian commits suicide? Lol.

Your post has given me psychological understanding that depression can be severe or mild. Also, psychiatric treatment are not option to treat mild depression.

Thanks.

Sort:  

Hey @turpsy :D

What a nice comment! and how brave of you to share with us that sometimes you have some difficult feelings to. I think this is the sort of acknowledgement that, I believe, helps to eradicate the stigma and misinformation surrounding this topic. You are very fortunate to have a dad who can give you his time and a word of love, I think this is all Luca needs you see. But, somehow, his parents don't know how to do it. They love him so much, though...

Just a little observation: it is not that psychiatric treatment with medication is not an option. Mainly, it is not recommended! But, unfortunately, in some countries they still resort to this extreme solution.

Have a great Saturday my dear :)