You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Technology & Youth - Usefulness VS Addiction

in #psychology6 years ago

You are addressing a very serious problem in the society nowadays. You can see it everywhere - everyone is on their phones all.the.time! I am not gonna pretend that I am any different but the truth is I have had huge troubles focusing for years now and I can point my finger towards my phone and my laptop.
Not sure if creating house rules for kids to limit their use of technology is gonna help - a lot of kids take it personally, believing that their parents want to control them (I have seen it a few times). Not sure what to do with it though...

Sort:  

I guess that the best approach is to be very tactical while creating rules - let the kids propose the rules, talk with them, make sure that you respect the rules too (if you can!), etc. : )

Are you sure? Do you think that kids would be able to propose rules to limit themselves? Ok, maybe I am not giving them enough credit. I just always keep thinking of my two little hyperactive and misbehaving cousins that no one wants to babysit anymore since they are just driving everyone crazy xD

:D :D

Psychologists clam that it's important to get kids involved in rules-making, although, of course, as a more experienced negotiator, parents can use arguments and explanations to make sure that the final rules are approximately what they had in mind prior to the discussion. : )

Hmm, I'll try to discuss it with my cousins then but if I end up tied up and stored in a closet, then I know who to blame :D

:D Good luck : )