You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Remove your witness votes from @fyrst-witness!

in #psychopath6 years ago

A full node is not a dedicated server, it is a RPC node that typically runs on around 512GB of ram. With the size of the blockchain and the memory requirements, most witnesses use dedicated servers now and not VPS but that's not a "full node". A full node will run around $700+ a month plus labor.

Sort:  

Wow. So wait, a full node requires 512 GiGabytes of RAM?!? I'm no computer whiz (yet), but isn't that a shit-ton?? Like my macbook has 4 (which I just realized is really shitty--not to mention, it's a mac, which is pretty crappy for crypto anyway...). And what exactly do you mean by a full node is $700 plus labor "to run--" is this... in equipment costs? electricity?

yes, it is a shit ton and it is growing.

You can spend $700/month and it doesn't magically poof a full node in existence, there is a lot of work maintaining and setting it up, most of which is poorly documented with a limited amount of people who know anything to help you.

Damn... pretty bleak, eh? Although I guess "where there's a will, there's a. way..." I just don't have the will.

Then again, who knows... I do have a lot of "free time" it seems... Just feels like there's so freakin much going on, I can never learn enough, and because there's so much, I'm pulled in a million directions. lol . if/when I come into the "funds," I definitely plan to further my cryptocurrent-technological involvement; whether by mining, running a node of some variation, etc. Are you familiar with a project entitled Holochain, by chance?