Heavy heart once again

in #publicfigure2 years ago

So if you read my last post

You saw me mention Larry The Can Man VanNess. He collected tabs for the Ronald McDonald House. Larry started saving aluminum can tabs as a dare in 2003 to get 1 million. It took 2 years to get that first million. 19 years later, Larry has been able to acquire and donate 26 million tabs to the Ronald McDonald House. His ultimate goal was to donate 20 million in his lifetime. These tabs help families who have children at Riley Hospital stay close during their time in the hospital.

163235631_675415269904020_3707364335935760388_n.jpg Photo credit Rachel Landers

I got the pleasure to not only know Larry as a public figure

But also personally, as he was my godmother's boyfriend and the love of her life. When Ainsley Jo (@ainsleyjo1952) got sick, I would pick up Larry for visits with her while she was in Hospice care. They loved each other very much. When she passed on June 14, 2021 he was heartbroken as was I and I made a promise to her, that I would keep in touch with Larry and I tried to do that. So I started being a drop off location for the tabs. I knew that would force me to make sure I keep in touch, because sometimes I can be bad about it. Sadly I wasn't able to go visit him while he was in the hospital because I been sick with a nasty cold and am still not 100% over it. Here is a few photos I took of Larry and Ainsley on my cell before she passed.

Screenshot_20221024-140443.jpg

Screenshot_20221024-140430.jpg

Larry was working on his 27th million tabs

After 19 years of collecting can tabs for the Ronald McDonald House, Larry had collected, hand counted and donated more than 26 1/2 Million can tabs for this cause. He was very much expecting to reach 27 million by the end of this year. I am not sure how many more tabs were collected since his accident but I am sure he would have made it. As the whole community and world got behind Larry. Locally there are/were 20 drop off locations for him. But every time he would donate another Million he would get news coverage and people around the world has seen Larry's story and those 20 drop off locations get donation of Tabs for Larry from around the world sent to them. Larry is very loved. He use to say "I don't do it for the attention, I do it for the kids They are what keep me going."

RIP Larry The Can Man VanNess

Till we meet again my friend and give Ainsley Jo a big hug from Little Big Eyes. I miss her so much. I glad my godmother found you Larry. May you both rest in peace.
241373572_801843670594512_4683222919029331444_n.jpg Photo Credit Rachel Landers

Sort:  

That's a lot of beer tabs.. I used to save mine for the bar down the street

@davedickeyyall He use to tell me I was an alcoholic and I became a tab-a-holic.

Dear @tecnosgirl, sorry to jump in a bit off-topic.
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

I will check it out tomorrow when I have some more time

Thank you, looking forward to getting your support for the proposal ⏳🙂
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page. It won't cost you anything!