Orange Pumpkin Blossom [Gardening]

in #pumpkin6 years ago

20180224_102626.jpg

The pumpkin blossom bloomed this morning.

It matured very quickly.

Inside you can see the bright orange pollen.

Last night I posted photos of the closed bud in my Mega Seedling Update, and only a few hours later is has opened up.

Pumpkin flowers usually open in the morning, and close in the evening when it gets cold.

Some people like to eat pumpkin flowers, because it is very delicate and tender. They put them in a salad, or sauté them in a pan with some butter and salt. My squirrels consider pumpkin flowers a delicacy, and they will eat the connected stem too.

Here is one last photo for you to enjoy.

20180224_102615.jpg

Even though it does not need the flower right now, and I could prune it off, I think it will help the plant get healthier. The bloom reaching out to the sun will allow the plant to absorb more sunlight, and it will also help the stem to become more solid. A strong stem at the base of the plant is extremely important to protect this tender plant from wind and hungry animals and insects.

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

what kind of pumpkin do you plant ? @creativetruth
the flowers so beautiful
fresh yellow

The bud only lasted one day! Can you believe it? I planted seeds from Burpee brand seeds. It is called calabaza, Small Sugar Pumpkin, Organic.

Very beautiful pumpkin.
I appreciate your post.
Thanks for sharing this Post.

wow this is a great flower and this gardening is very nice..carry on my friend...

Beautiful pumpkin flowers, let alone planted in pots, very beautiful when blooming

this is very good, new pumpkin flowers bloom.
I see the previous post, this pumpkin flower has not bloom.
this is very fast blooming.

very bright flowers, and yellow, I really like the yellow color for you sucuk

Growing your own stuff is the steem way! Lol

That centrally happens fast. I guess it just did not want to wait to grow up and show us how beautiful it was.

Never thought I'd see a pumpkin blossom right now! :)

very beautiful flowers friends may bloom always frends @creativetruth