Pyrography - Wood burning - Beginner Suggestions & My first projects

in #pyrography6 years ago

0206181707.jpg
Someone asked me what this was and I am definitely a beginner but it's so much fun I have to share!

I found out about the art of wood burning online (lots of people sell custom signs but there's amazing artwork out there as well)

There are several types of wood burning kits out there.
DON'T PAY FULL PRICE
I bought mine from JoAnns. If you download their app or sign up for emails they send coupons ALL THE TIME.
So I got a $35 kit for $17 with tax!
Hobby Lobby always has a 40% off one item coupon on their website.

Make sure you have a pair of pliers to help you change the tips. It's not only safer but more effective at tightening it so the pen stays secure (you don't want burning metal falling on you or your stuff!)

I use a baking tray or ceramic mug to help hold and keep track of my stuff (my kit came with a little metal stand that's pretty flimsy so I put it on top of my tray to be extra careful)

My kit has a temperature setting. The hottest setting even makes the base where you hold the pen hot so BE CAREFUL.
This is definitely NOT a toy / child's fun project. I haven't burned myself yet but I'm pretty clumsy and I feel like it's going to be inevitable. The closest I've gotten is touching the wood accidentally right after I burned it so it was still really warm.

A lot of people use stencils/tracing paper to trace their picture or words on the wood first. I like playing with it freehand personally but there are some cool nerdy gift idea that I have that I will definitely trace in the future to make sure it looks professional!

Sanding the wood first makes it easier to burn! I didn't think about how the grain and bumps in the wood would make it so hard to burn the way I wanted- especially curved lines. Try burning with the grain if you can position your project to make it more easier for yourself.

Now for wood type... I've seen a variety of suggestions but the usual explanation is less grain and softer wood is better because it's easier to work with. Lately I've been practicing on precut shapes from JoAnns and free pallet wood. Next project I'm going to do is coasters on basswood. Basswood, birch, poplar, and pine are the common suggested wood types.

If you like the smell of burning wood, great. Just be aware it will make your area smell. You may want a fan/good ventilation where you're working. Don't burn right next to a fire alarm unless you want some beeping accompaniment ;-)

So, there you go! Let me know what type of creative projects you like to do whether it's wood burning related or not!
Here are some of my first projects:
0205180918.jpg
0206181707a.jpg