You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Use Python to Discover Your Biggest Fans

in #python2 years ago

This really gets down to one of the core problems of understanding social media and self-promotion – deciding what "good" means. It can and should vary for pretty much everyone, which is an absolute fact which is overlooked most of the time when you talk about various metrics.

For me, personally, comment engagement is one of the best metrics out there. Not just "number of comments left," but "number of threads in which there is multiple posts by a single commentor." Anyone can leave one comment but very few people engage in conversations; those of the people who either hate you enough or love you enough to really talk about what you're doing.

But that's just my metric.

Sort:  

Good point … It’s interesting how often comments on Hive seem to be just for visibility, but it’s even worse in DeSo which is supposed to be just for conversation - to the point replies seem to be actively hidden in the main apps.

I keep coming back to the idea of making a new UI for Hive myself that encouraged conversation but I fear I’d be the only user.