Quarantine Chronicles: Day 10 - When it rains, it pours

Quarantine Chronicles-15.jpg

So today was one of those days. It never rains, but it pours.

Started off slow and lethargic like many of the past days, but we got up, started cleaning and making breakfast, and had a really great morning to be honest. Breakfast was nice, we sat out on the balcony, and had a really lovely visit from none other than mama bird and a certain little teenage looking baby bird!!

We were so excited to see him (her?? I really can't tell) hopping around on the tree branches just beside our balcony. Flapping his (Im going with his for now) little wings and learning to fly. I'm honestly so happy I got to see him fly. When they disappeared from the nest the other day I was a little gutted to be honest. Even if they don't come back now, I'm glad I got one last good look, and to see the little ones flying, it was great.

Here's a shot of the little fluffy butt

Quarantine Chronicles-1.jpg

Well, things went downhill from there.

We have had a small water leak on a pipe that connects to our water heater. It's been dripping ever so slightly for while now but it's easy to ignore since it is outside on a tiny little balcony connected to our kitchen.

Well the water has been building up I guess and dripping down to our neighbours below us. He came up today and was trying to fix it which basically was just really annoying and irritating. I can understand his frustration as well though, but it was just kinda obnoxious. Anyhow he started doing all this stuff and I just told him to stop and I would fix it tonight.

So he left and now I'm here trying to figure out how we are gonna get a pipe fixed in the middle of a country wide lockdown with a landlord that doesn't give a crap in the best of times. We email the landlord and surprise surprise they just tell us they can't do anything because of the lockdown, sorry. Just turn the apartment water main off when you're not using it.

Yeah, thanks that works. Oh wait, everytime I turn the main off IT starts leaking a bit too. I just know if I'm turning that thing on and off five times a day it's going to eventually break and cause a real flood in our building, which I'm sure they will blame on me. So I try a few things to try and contain the leak, but it literally just makes it worse. Now we have water spraying out of this thing and it's filling a bucket like every 45 minutes. Now we are really screwed.

So I have to go out and try to search for anything I can to try and fix this damn pipe, which is impossible because ALL of the hardware stores are closed down from the lockdown. Since this is Spain as well, you can't just go to say a grocery store and find an aisle with general hardware type stuff. If it's a grocery store, they sell groceries, ONLY. You want nuts and bolts? Go to the nuts and bolts part of town and go to a nuts and bolts store. Want paper? Go to the paper part of town and get it from one of the paper stores.

It's just like that here. Everything has it's own store and they only sell that thing, and they don't mix and match.

So anyhow I ended up wandering farther from my place than I'm sure I'm supposed to, which is dangerous right now because you could get a fine of up to €3000 or even be arrested, and I've heard it's happening more and more ever since monday. Plus it was also literally raining now.

So I eventually gave up and started making my way home, and man it was weird seeing all the cops patrolling and wondering if they are gonna come and hassle me, ask me for my id and what I'm doing out here, maybe give me a fine or something. It's stressful man. Not to mention I have no idea how I'm gonna get the water back on in our place.

Well, obviously I took my camera along. Here are some photos of one of the most obscenely busy tourist spots in the entire city right now.

This is the famous Rambla street. On any given day at this time it's nearly impossible to get across this walking street it's so packed with tourists. As a local you will literally do anything you can to avoid it. Now it's just strange and unnerving wondering if the cops are gonna pull you aside and fine you for being there.

Quarantine Chronicles-11.jpg

Quarantine Chronicles-12.jpg

Quarantine Chronicles-9.jpg

Right here on this crazy tourist street is the famous Boqueria Market. Again, as a local you will do almost anything to avoid this place most days of the year. Since it's an actually food market it is one of the few places allowed to remain open. This huge entrance is normally so clogged with people it's difficult to get in. It's so strange

Quarantine Chronicles-13.jpg

Normally it's nearly impossible to walk through these aisles as they are so crowded with people. I can't even imagine how much it must cost to rent one of the stalls here. I've never seen even one of them closed.

Quarantine Chronicles-14.jpg

Quarantine Chronicles-7.jpg

Quarantine Chronicles-6.jpg

Quarantine Chronicles-4.jpg

Quarantine Chronicles-3.jpg

I know I put this shot at the beginning of the post. I wanted to put it because I thought it would be a cool cover photo. I just saw this guy taking shelter under this big overhang, trying to wait out the rain. I really hate that I can't go out and take photos during this time, there are so many amazing shots with the city so abandoned like this.

Quarantine Chronicles-15.jpg

Got one more of the empty streets on my way home.

Quarantine Chronicles-16.jpg

And I try to take a window selfie every time I go out. Today I wore a silly mask and gloves. Hilariously with the conditions we are in having a mask and gloves on actually makes you less conspicuous to the police. Wear a face mask, gloves, pull one of those granny grocery carts or hold a shopping bag and walk fast, the police will basically leave you alone.

Strange days

Quarantine Chronicles-17.jpg