Day 15 of self-isolation: Into silence, small engine repair

in #quarantinecontest4 years ago

We have been in voluntary isolation for nearly two weeks. As expected, the state has declared a mandatory "stay-at-home" order. While this changes nothing for us, by coincidence, we said a sad farewell today to the older people in my family who we have isolated in one home. We collectively made the decision to put these loved ones on a "hard" lock down due to age and medical problems which put them at high mortality risk. The rest of us will bear the necessary interactions outside the home. We will bring them food, make sure they are safe, but will keep ourselves physically separate due to the high asymptomatic infection rate and potential for disease transmission.

I already miss their leadership, joy, wisdom, and shared daily routines. It feels as if we are being submerged in a great silence. So many attachments, concerns, and habits have faded away. I don't feel the same tug of individuality. We rise together as a family, we work together, we celebrate together.

MAXDNxs5QuarantineContest.jpg

Small engine repair

I tuned up the lawnmower today. My dad and I normally do this together, and I did it with a heavy heart by myself. I took off the blades and sharpened them with an angle grinder. I filled up the tires with air. When I went to start, I couldn't get it running despite the fact I had been running it periodically over the winter. This is the third time this has happened after the off season. It took 5 minutes to fix today because a former client of mine who repaired small engines taught me the trick which I'm happy to share.

Symptoms

  • Engine doesn't turn over but battery charged
  • OR Engine does turn over but engine is sputtering with black smoke

Problem-Solving

  1. Check gas and gas cap.
  2. In my case, check that manual fuel shut-off valve has been opened
  3. Disconnect the spark plug cord and pull the spark plug using a ratchet wrench
  4. Try to start the engine again. Obviously it won't start but it will blow out any junk in the spark plug well
  5. Clean the spark plug with a clean rag. Spray it with brake cleaner. Spray the spark plug well with brake cleaner. Let it sit for a few minutes, and then try to start the engine.
  6. Brush up spark plug tip using a piece of sandpaper.
  7. Insert spark plug and tighten gently with ratchet wrench.
  8. If it doesn't start up, you could also try unscrewing the bowl of the carburetor and cleaning it with brake fluid cleaner in case ethanol and other additives have junked up the carb over the winter.

This is the end of my small engine trouble-shooting. Taking apart a carb is to me like a surgeon taking a part a brain. I leave it to the professionals.

IMG_1060.jpg
All the tools you need to complete his job with spark plug removed

IMG_1061.jpg
Spark plug well

Possible cause

I think fuel is leaking from the carb into the spark plug well and junking it up. So I installed a manual fuel shut-off valve in the fuel line. I engage it when I am done with the mower, and at the end of the season, I engage it and then run the mower until it shuts off due to lack of gas. This prevents fuel from staying in the carb and potentially leaking into the spark plug well as gunking up the carb.

IMG_1062.jpg
Manual fuel shut-off valve

COVID-19 Diary on the homestead
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 6
Day 7
Day 9

Sort:  

Hey @briarch,

This post is upvoted by @curie curator for homesteading community.
You can visit our homesteaders heaven, start posting within community and become our fellow member here.

Hope to see more content from you soon :-)

@hidden84

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Natural Medicine.

I’ve featured your post in The Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published each Thursday.


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community