You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Quarantine Story: Two Months & Going Strong

Very interesting read, sounds like you're going OK, at least partly because you've got several things going on you can turn your hand too.

Zoom is great - I discovered it thanks to Corona too - only socially though.

You're much better off tossing about on Hive and Netflix, don't waste your life on Academia, no one gives a shit!

Sort:  

Yeah, no one seems to read academic work except for maybe some people who can give you a job with a salary!

Ah yes, there is that little factor, if you can use it to get job then that's a different matter altogether!

I did start a PhD many years ago, quit due to financial reasons - I remember how painful having to write in 'academic' was - it just wasn't natural.

I much prefer a looser style!

Yep! It's a lot easier to churn out 2k words on these kind of platforms than 6k words for a journal article. Ironically, about the same number of people will read the stuff here and for way less effort!

However, it's a nice challenge that is intellectually rewarding and potentially career rewarding (in the long run). At least that's what I hope!

It's quite an intellectual place this!

Hope the career works out, I'm sure it will!