MY QUARANTINE STORY

Thanks to @theycallmedan for this challenge.
At the beginning of the year, I had a list of places I intended on visiting. And like all my goals, I had dates beside them for extra effect. April was supposed to be MY month.
Haven I left home since November last year with a very pitiful amount of clothing, I figured I deserved a little vacation from this life of forgery.
IN MY END
Nigeria is a fraud of a country. And the spread of the Rona (corona virus) is even a greater fraud.
Please note that these are completely my views.
The Rona, like I have grown fond of calling it, is the least of Nigeria’s problems. Really, for a country still battling with Malaria and HIV/AIDS awareness, do you think we are ready for RONA awareness?
Now, let’s bring this to the present palaver. Lassa fever which has been in Nigeria since 1969 has caused more deaths within the past couple of weeks that The Rona has caused in the month it has been fluctuating in the country.
lassa fever dets.jpg
A few days ago, I was discussing with a doctor who told me the Southern part of Nigeria currently has a spread of Monkey Pox. MONKEY POX!!! Also has no cure mind you! And this wonderful disease has been plaguing this country for 39years. No border closure, mind you.
Yet, we close borders for a foreign sickness, add a lot of drama and fund looting to national, as we always do.
WHAT HAS BEEN DONE
For the past couple of months, Nigerians have been looking forward to make those online videos with the title “Day 2 of quarantine” and the likes. We love the attention. A social media trend is NOTHING if Nigerians in Nigeria are not in on it.
For the past week, 4 states have been on a total lockdown. In other states, like Plateau state, where I currently reside (thanks to the Rona), there are social distancing policies put in place. Like limiting the number of people who get into public transportation, social distancing in places of worship, closure of schools and markets.
In other states, like Lagos, Ogun, Abuja (FCT), Kaduna, Akwa Ibom, Anambara and Rivers state. They only allow movement for necessities. The military has been brutal in these places, as expected of the Nigerian military to use a situation to their advantage.
The leaders, who are the most affected by the Rona, seem to be really paranoid and as expected, careless. A lot could have been done in order to avert the current situation, but no. our President spent a month trying to figure out if it was pronounced COVID or COVIK. We thank the lord it only took him a month.
Finance has been made available, as we have heard. There is currently N46billion in distribution for Rona relief materials. Some states have purchased an obscene amount of food which is to be disbursed to poor homes..
In certain states, Corona Medical Facilities have been put in place. But, this being Nigeria, they damn the concept of Social Distancing and have a huge launch to celebrate the greatest invention the world has ever seen.
You just gotta love Nigeria.
most recend ncdc.jpg
MY STORY
As a single introvert, my story is quite typical.
I started taking online courses long before this whole drama began, so I have had a lot of things to keep me busy for the past few days.
My writing has improved magnanimously.
My typical daily routine usually involves;

  • Work out (if possible)IMG_20200406_041743.jpg
  • Breakfast (sometimes taken as lunch)
  • Movies (I currently gave myself the mission to complete the Game of Thrones series)
  • Books (I’m some kinda addict)
  • My daily devotion, affirmations and gratitude.IMG_20200403_073408.jpg
  • Writing (content like these have to come from somewhere)
    This has been my routine for the past couple of weeks.
    Sadly, unlike the vast population of Nigeria, I actually intend on coming out of this absurd lockdown with a new skill or two.
    MY CHALLENGE
    The fact that I have a challenge during this lockdown comes as a surprise for me really.
    Haven spent the most part of this year and the past 2 years completely alone, you would wonder why my mind would play these loneliness tricks on me.
    As a single female adult, these are the times when we truly realize how single we are. To go through an entire day/week with no call, no sweet texts from a lover and no romance whatsoever. This has been my most single awareness period. It has not been easy.
    My next minor challenge has to be my personal space and sanity.
    You see, I have been living with an extremely Christian family over the past few months and it has taken a rather annoying toll on me. Yes, I consider myself to be a Christian who likes her relationship with God, among other relationships, to be kept private. I live a pretty good life, as far as I know. I am bund for heaven.
    However, for the period of this isolation, I have lost my patience.
    Spending 12 hours a day with my head stuck on a laptop screen has become my habit. And since it is one that gives me joy, I’m not so apologetic about it.
    But African parents never understand such thing, I fear my choices my come off as something unspiritual in the days to come. This is where I fear for my sanity.
    WHAT HAVE I LEARNED
    This pandemic has brought a lot of lessons to the knowledge of the world.
    Definitely,we have the conspiracy theorists, the dooms day Christians, the nonchalant and easy living believers (like myself) and the scientists.
    All-in-all, we just want this to end. But we all have our different ides of how this will end.
    The conspiracy theorists believe that this is a planned event (I low-key believe this). They believe this is put in place by certain world powers in order to take up some harsh measures of population control. A means to wipe out the older generation and let the younger ones come into power. A form of modern day Darwinism or survival of the fittest meant to save the world to come. Well, if there is a mad scientist at the end of the world currently controlling the spread, he /she should know that I fully support their notion. I definitely will not voice out my solidarity, but it’s there.
    My beloved DOOMS-DAY CHRISTIANS. You just have to love them. Everything has to be about the coming of Christ, which I do not doubt mind you, but I just don’t make mindless claims towards such situations. Do you not have a future? Who so much stress over Heaven when you’re not done with Earth?
    We the nonchalant ones have little to worry about. While everyone is busy counting deaths and lives lost, we’re busy planning for life after this whole drama. There will be a massive turn of events when the world finally comes back to a new normal. And yes, the world will never be the same again. I cannot wait for the new world to come. We have to use this break from unnecessary activities to think, plan and work towards the new world to come. We HAVE to be a part of it. That is why we are not so concerned about the situation. We see beyond it.
    The Science people. These are the ones who, on a daily, give the news on the scientific make up of this event. They write long articles about why, how, who, what, where and a lot of very meaty material which I do not consume. These are the ones who give us a reason to fear with their big fancy words. Yes, they have their use, and yes they are right about their facts. They have a role to play in this movie. But I do not consume their material.
    One major thing I have learned from this is how small the world really is. Here I am writing about a Nigerian problem, which happens to be the same plague wrecking the country of everyone who would ever set their eyes on this piece.
    Some consider it scary and disturbing. I think it is beautiful. One virus against different races, classes and nationalities. From the colonially oppressed to the oppressors. It truly is a beautiful thing.
    We are learning together.
Sort:  

A heavy dose of cynicism fused with realism. Nice post.

thank you ferry ferry mush