You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quello Question Thread #1

in #quello-threads4 years ago

When is a question considered answered? When can a question be closed? Who gets to close the question and when?

I have posted a question which I believe I got an answer for but it is still an open question. So this part is a little confusing to me. Maybe Quello should let the original poster close the question when they deem it appropriate to close. Thoughts?

Sort:  

A question never really becomes closed on Quello, I believe that one of the most interesting parts of question and answer platforms is the ability to get different perspectives, and by leaving the door open to answer for an indefinite amount of time it helps promote this.

In the future there may be an option for a top answer to be selected by the asker, however, in this scenario, the question could still be answered by one.

Of course, there will be questions that have a straight answer to them, however, at the time I'm not sure that's the promoting different perspectives in the way I would like.

Got it. I was thinking this would be more like StackOverflow where once the question is answered, it would be closed and people can read the thread and also get to the solution.

Closing the question is just stopping other user to answer it, thus it does not serve very well for the open minded questions. Say for example you ask a question and the answer you got is relevant now but what if any other user want to answer like 1 year down the line where the updated answer will have more meaning. Thus I think, question should not be closed.