My investing addiction has begun to affect my every day life.

in #quitsmoking6 years ago (edited)

Guys, its time I admitted I have a problem. I have become addicted to investing my disposable income.

It started last year. I bought some small ones, you know, just to try it out, just to see what all the fuss was about. But we all know how that story goes. I decided to invest a little more. Then a little more. I knew I could stop any time, so whats the harm?

I still remember standing in that gas station, making my nighly beer run. As I looked at the price the thought crossed my mind, "maybe I should compound this money first before I buy beer with it." Whats one night without a drink anyways? But then it happened again. And again. Pretty soon I was going days without alcohol. It was getting harder to rationalize my habit, the shakes and cold sweats of neglecting my body's neccesities were starting to show.

I should have quit at this point, I should have seeked help. But I didn't, I was in love. I loved the crypos with their ups and downs, I loved the mellow index funds. I loved equity crowdfunds with their delayed gratification. I've even resorted to precious metals because I want to feel my investments.
0128182059.jpg

Now I sit here, with my dwindling supply of cigarettes, staring down this nicotine patch. Has it really come to this? Have I really sunk so low as to have to quit smoking? The things I will do for money now are embarassing.

Sort:  

That's just the way addictions work. You don't just quit one, you replace it with something else. As long as it's disposable income, then it's not really a problem. The issue comes when you start gambling and "investing" with money that is needed to pay for necessities, like food. @swerdan may go hungry this week, due to my addiction of trying to show him a good time while he's in Asia.

This post has received a 0.67% upvote from thanks to: @swerdan.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount