Wild Detox Soup with Chilli Granola

in #qurator2 years ago

1646577092713 (1).jpg
This recipe is my contribution for Qurator's: Hive Top Chef! .
This week's theme is chilli peppers and I used chilli flakes and homemade chilli infused olive oil, to spice the granola.
The soup is made of detoxing greens and flowers.
Foraging the forest I found dandelion, wild garlic, corn speedwell, primrose, lungworth and dead nettles.
1646577092728.jpg

Ingredients for the soup:

  • 300 g of edible green leaves and flowers; dandelion leaves, wild garlic, primrose leaves and flowers, lungwort leaves and flowers, corn speedwell leaves and flowers, dead nettle leaves and flowers and parsley leaves
  • 1 teaspoon of dry thyme
  • 2 potatoes
  • 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 800 ml of vegetable stock
  • salt and pepper to taste

Ingredients chilli granola:

  • 70 g of rolled oats
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon of flax seeds
  • 2 tablespoons of chilli infused extra virgin olive oil
  • ¼ teaspoon of salt
  • ½ teaspoon of chilli flakes
  • 1 teaspoon of sweet red paprika powder

Preparation:

  1. Peel, cut and wash the potatoes.
  2. Chop garlic and add it to the pot with 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Cook at low heat for a minute and add potatoes, dry thyme and vegetable stock. Simmer for 15 minutes, with a lid on.
  3. Clean and wash the leaves and flowers. Roughly chop it and add it to the pot. Simmer for another 15 minutes, or until the potatoes are tender.
    1646577092735.jpg
  4. Pour the soup in a blender and blend until smooth. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  5. In a pan, heat up 2 tablespoons of chilli infused olive oil and add all the rest of the ingredients for granola: rolled oats, chia seeds, flax seeds, salt, chilli flakes and sweet red paprika powder.
    1646577092795.jpg
  6. Serve the soup with granola and a few fresh flowers and leaves.
    1646577092773 (1).jpg
    1646493239803 (1).jpg
Sort:  

Oh my, these are two ingredients I would never have thought to put together, but intuitively it works! I really need to try this. Not only does it sound very interesting, but it sounds healthy and good for the gut. I am going to write this down for the winter.

I was not really sure of it at first but somehow it comes together nicely and not too strong even. Healthy and great for gut health it sure is!
Cool, let me know how you like it. 😉🤗

I will do so! I can feel the winter in the air here, so it is almost-almost time for soup again.

Nice idea!😀
Can you still taste the flowers with the dominant chilli taste??

Actually the most dominant taste in the soup is the taste of green. Flowers are there more for decoration and adding to the nutritional value. I could taste a bit of spiciness from the chills, although I use a fair amount of chilli, the greens kind of absorb the spaciness.

Nice, spicy greens, sounds good😉

🤗😋

This is a bowl of genius and beauty. The chilly granola is the bomb. I never thought to try something like this. Just wow! It may be detox but it sounds super tasty and fun to eat. I can never get my hands on those super herbs but hopefully someday. I'll have to learn to identify them first haha.

Thank you. I wasn't really sure how chilli granola would come out in a soup, but it surprised me and it made the flavors authentic. There was not a lot of spiciness as the green soup kind of absorb most of it.
Dandelion is pretty much easy to find and it's for sure my favorite wild food. I wish you get some luck with the 'hunting' sometime. 🍀🤗

Yes dandelion is one that I have gotten but I'll have to wait for a long time. We have six months of winter haha.

Oh yes of course, Canada is cold, but six months is tough! 😯
I already have springtime lethargy after just three months. 😅

Hi @blackberryskunk, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you for support @bdcommunity and @rem-steem!

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Powered by LOTUS token, an alternative health social currency on HIVE. Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more