Focaccia Bread from the scratch

in #qurator4 years ago (edited)

This is my first entry post to Hive Top Chef competition by @qurator. I am honored to join you for this week and Thank you for this wonderful challenge.

I am no Italian but I am a fan of their cuisine, and one of my favorite wonderful foods they have is Focaccia Breads. I always love watching Italian cooking shows making real authentic dishes per region. Their cuisine and culture fascinates me. Recently, I tried to make this flat oven-baked bread that is very similar to a pizza dough. And since we are on a home quarantine my resources are limited so i have to make adjustments and be resourceful as i could.

tiea2b.jpg

I made my Focaccia Bread from scratch. It’s easy and delicious. I made mine with a filling of Tomatoes, onions and mozzarella cheese.

Ingredients

Dough

  • All purpose flour, 3 ½ cup

  • Instant yeast, 2 tsp

  • Salt , 1 tsp

  • Garlic powder, ½ tsp optional

  • Extra virgin olive oil, 2 Tbsp

  • Lukewarm water, 1 ½ cup

Fillings and Toppings

  • Mozzarella , shredded

  • Tomatoes, sliced

  • Onions, sliced

  • Salt

  • Olive oil, 1 Tbsp

8mlc4h.jpg
sdaxfv.jpg

Procedure

  • Combine the Dough ingredients and knead until you achieve a smooth dough. Knead not more than 10 minutes.
    cg5g9b.jpg
  • Place the dough in a greased bowl,turn to coat. Cover and let rise for 1 hour or until double in size.
  • Meanwhile, in a preheated pan, Saute onion in olive oil until soft and translucent. Set aside.
  • Next, fry tomatoes until soft but not mushy and Set aside.
  • Preheat the oven to 425 degrees fahrenheit
  • Once the dough has rested. Punch it down in a lightly floured surface and rest for another 10 minutes.
  • Divide it into equal balls and roll it to a circle or square shape and as flat as possible.
    zs45ky.jpg
  • Drizzle Olive oil in a pan and place the flattened dough. Prick the dough with a fork.
    j008xf.jpg
  • Top with the filling, Mozzarella cheese,tomatoes, onion and salt.
    m985kx.jpg
  • Roll the second half of dough into an equal sized circle/square. Place it on top of the filling.
  • Seal the dough by pressing the edges of the circle.
    lgod82.jpg
  • Brush the top with olive oil and prick with a fork.
    xvm1c5.jpg
  • Bake the bread for 15 - 20 minutes.

Allow to cool for 10 minutes before slicing. I didn't, I was starving:)

zdw6jx.jpg

Don’t worry if the dough is not a perfect circle or square. It will still be delicious. Enjoy!

I really appreciate your feedback and Thank you for checking my recipe.

Stay safe. There will always be a Rainbow after the rain.

frx45y.jpg

Sort:  

Oh yum @sherylneil, your bread looks amazing, your family is very lucky, I can just imagine the aroma!