Chapter 0: This is Rabona

in #rabona2 years ago

jonny-gios-XWBi6jUidBI-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Jonny Gios on Unsplash

"You can drop me off wherever is easiest" I tell the Uber driver.

Without a word, he complies with my ask and takes advantage of the red light to drop me off at the corner of the intersection.

"Thank you so much, have a nice day!" I recite my signature sign off as I close the door and the crimson Prius takes a right turn and drives off.

It's raining, which is not something you expect much of in Southern California. But somehow I managed to leave dreary Seattle behind only to return to a just as dreary of a Los Angeles. Luckily, down here it's a passing weather event, unlike in the self-proclaimed coffee capital of the world.

After confirming the location, I stuff the phone into the front pocket of my backpack, which I fling across my shoulder afterwards, grab the duffle bag with my left hand and cross the intersection as the light has conveniently turned green. For a second I feel guilty for not going straight to my in-laws to see my wife, but I quickly shake it off. I knew that if I hadn't made some progress towards this next chapter of my life, I wouldn't be able to fully focus on spending the holidays with the family.

I make it to what looks like the right alley I have to walk down. After taking a deep breath and reminding myself to think positively as "your vibe attracts your tribe" I make my way down the alley. Seems like this small moment helped, as I barely notice the fact that I had to step through a 3 foot wide puddle, fully soaking the shoes I bought just a few weeks back.

This is it. No more dealing with mediocre middle managers. No more selling my time each week to make others millionaires, while I barely cover my wife's medical expenses. I am the boss now. But more importantly, I am living true to myself.

I quickly arrive at my destination.

"Sports Holding Company of Torrance" a faded sign reads above the entrance.

Upon seeing the sign, my heart skips a beat.

This is it.

I am officially back as the owner and manager of my very own football club.

This is it.

This is.. Rabona.

Sort:  

You have an excellent writing voice - I felt like I was experiencing this along side you!