Racism is in the eye of the beholder!

in #race7 years ago (edited)

What do you see in this picture?
ACLU-Tweet-759x500.jpg
Most people would answer: A baby!
Yet, for some, the answer is: A white baby!
And, of course, it's a triggering and offensive image.
The picture was released by the ACLU as a campaign ad for its new range of clothing.
The image unleashed a storm of protests on Twitter, as enraged SJWs considered this as another proof of white supremacy and discrimination.
I, for one, saw a kid in the picture and I would've seen a kid even if it were the photo of a black or brown one. They're just kids. Why do we feel the need to push our distorted views upon them and raise them to be prejudiced?
In case you're wondering: The ACLU apologized for its "white supremacy"! Ah, well...

Sure, we don't have many black people where I live, but we do have gypsies. Quite a lot of them.
Over the years, we've had many debates about discrimination, whether it's OK to call them gypsies or not. We've even had some violent incidents, too, but, thankfully, these are rare. On the whole, we get along together.
tigani.jpg
If a do see a Gypsy child, I still see the child first.
As I was writing this, I was wondering if I'm honest, if I'm not hiding racist views from myself. So I decided to ask my nine years old son whether he knows what gypsies are. Turns out he has no idea, which is good, it means that he has not been exposed to racist views. As he is homeschooled, most of his notions come from family environment. Had he been in public school I'm pretty sure he would've heard by now the word gypsy used as a racial slur.

Thanks for reading
rebecca-516397.gif

Sort:  

This post received a 1.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @ladyrebecca! For more information, click here!

I agree children are exposed to others and do not see any difference unless they come from a family that is racist or they go to school .
It is very very sad children treat everyone equally until they are taught otherwise and hear the racial slurs & since this remains an issue in the schools then O do not see it changing anytime soon.
We can only keep instilling to them that skin colour is not what is important , people that are in a different income bracket are just as important and that we are all Human and we will think learn and grow for our entire life and If we do not socialize with other cultures how can we possibly learn & grow? Even an adult that has finished college still must open their minds & learn for their entire life and if ppl remain prejudice and impose it onto their children then they are only hurting them and stunting their growth as a Human Being.

Yes, racism is a false ideology. Kids aren't exposed to sort of thinking until they are indoctrinated, usually in government schools or by family.

I wrote post it about it.— Race is a Non-Issue

Nic Post and Every time i see your post, i always feel happy and happy. and I Follow u and U Follow Me

Nic Post and Every time i see your post, i always feel happy and happy. and I Follow u and U Follow Me

Please send me 1 SBD and I'll follow you.

Liberals have gone completely out of their minds.

This post has received a 16.13 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @ladyrebecca.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 5.24 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @ladyrebecca. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

I seriously don't get it, what is 'triggering or offensive' about the image?

Well done for drawing attention to this. My last blog was on a racist issue and a memory dating from the early seventies. I think we have moved on a little since then. Upvoted and followed.