BEING ANTI-RACIST IS A LICENSE TO LABEL OTHERS AS RACIST

in #racism4 years ago

Had someone today tell me it was not enough to not be a racist and that I needed to become an "anti-racist." Hmm, I thought ... I think I read about that recently: https://newdiscourses.com/2020/06/cult-dynamics-wokeness/. In a broader discussion of cult indoctrination is this tidbit:

"Another clear sign that one is dealing with a cult indoctrination rather than something healthier is making the mark live up to contradictory demands. You must understand racism and admit that you cannot understand racism. You must admit to your complicity in racism and pledge to do better knowing that it is impossible to do better. You must be an ally but accept that you will always do your allyship wrong. Impossible demands would scare off a potential cult initiate at the beginning, but once a sufficient level of commitment to the cause has taken place, the effect is the opposite. Rather than making the mark reject the cult, these impossible and paradoxical demands dramatically deepen commitment to the cult. They do this by re-invoking and massively inflaming the feeling of vulnerability at the core, making the mark burn with a desire to “do better” to resolve the emotional dissonance and white-hot feeling of inadequacy (as judged against the cult’s impossible standards). Outsiders see through this emotionally abusive tactic immediately. Cult initiates see it as a kind of ritual hazing and demand to prove the faith, very much like an abused child or spouse always trying to do better to live up to the unmet demands of their abuser."

Sorry. I'll pass. I am going to stick with the truth and my color blind mentality to the best of my abilities. MLK famously and righteously said, "I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character." Not sure how you get there by judging people by the color of their skin and addressing any group of people (african american or otherwise) as a monolith instead of a collection of individuals. You let me know when racism has been defeated by the anti-racists. I wish them luck. I am skeptical that they will improve race relations in any manner and afraid they will turn back the clock on progress made over recent decades. Time will tell.

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://newdiscourses.com/2020/06/cult-dynamics-wokeness/