Sort:  

That's true...maybe we should create some metrics about, Nr of comments = Level of engagement

welcome spammers

true but spammers in worst case can be flagged

We could lower the vote tax on comments and flag more spam?

We could lower the vote tax on comments

Vote tax on comments? What are you talking about?

Lol, if your vote isn't big enough, it gets rounded down by half.
All hail the new features of hf21!
Ask a witness, and see if he spins it.

Yea, but thats on posts too, its not a comment only tax. Yea comments get less votes than posts, but I've seen plenty of comments that get more votes than my best posts.

Perhaps just keep the tax for posts and not for comments to be more engaging on the chain or just reduce the tax? Round it out to a certain decimal.

Lol, the rich keeping it in the family.
This is some game we are playing.

Comments can be distinguished by the code, it seems trivial to change the curve on them.
Exploits are the problem.
Unless we got enough stake down voting.
Spam farming is why they taxed it in the first place.
That, and to keep the help from getting to uppity.
Iyam.

I like scrolling by and getting the entire content of the post from the title

...Me too Bro. Hey @netuoso. Question: What's the best/easiest way to get in touch with you about a project?
Thanks,
Driver1-

At least in their own posts, there's nothing worse than authors who dump their shit and don't even bother replying to their commenters or at least acknowledging them with a small vote.

Absolutely agree. I had a 'discussion' with someone a long time ago who didn't agree with me that it's not the amount that matters, it's the fact you are acknowledging and thanking someone for taking the time to visit your post and comment.

Yea, it infuriates me when I ask questions in the comments and I don't get a response.

Unfortunately people don't want to waste their VP on comments. Having a vote amount that turns to dust also doesn't help. I found the Engagement token a great way to give something back, hope it or something similar will come to Hive. That said I do try and keep a ratio.

@abh12345 have you any update on your tokens please?

hmm i used to do more than 5 but these days i don't see any engagement at all so i felt kinda bored to be the only one engaging. it would be good though to restart it or to be a more group effort regarding this.
The majority of posts i see have 0-2 comments max

challenge accepted

This wisdom is good.

I think so. Sometimes you really catch the point.

Yep. That is why i play and run play-by-post games. It lets us engage with each other.

too many people want to post but not take the time to read other's posts. :(

I think I beat that metric by a lot. Especially when its a normal scenario and I'm not posting at all.

I have made 2 comments today (counting this one) still got time to make another 3, i ha e to admit im not into comments that much i dont even respond to the comments people make in my own posts I SUCK big time i know.

We should have some simple view-based analytics to better understand chain traffic. Google Analytics or Simple Analytics would be ideal, each depending on privacy concerns.

I make lots of comments. I try to be as engaging as I can. I find that making comments takes a lot less time than making a well paying post. I just wish that people would be more free with their votes on comments.

Your appeal has given you more than 20 comments. Good luck with the answers to them :)

I probably make 30 :)
But my dad always said I talk more than three old ladies.

Great idea! It'd be great to incentivize this by adding an incremental rewards "boost" at post payout if you made a certain number of comments after you post. You'd have to determine a way to flag spam comments though.

you know what would spike the metrics here? if HBD spiked up in price ... thatll motivate everyone to post and compete for available votes