My Desperate Email To Ramit Sethi And His Email Response To Me: Part 1, How I Got Rich By Ignoring Ramit's Advice

in #ramitsethi7 years ago (edited)

ramit.jpeg
Image source: http://www.iwillteachyoutoberich.com/

In January of 2016 before I found Steemit, I was desperate for money.

My health had been declining in the previous years because my job as a car saleswoman was at odds with my personality and principles. The only reason I got into car sales because I was flat broke for several years prior and I was tired of not being able to buy my baby basic things like clothes, toys and shoes. And as far as buying things for myself, I had stopped doing that in 2010. I was afraid even to buy a stick of deoderant. $2 was a lot of money for me back then.

My baby and I lived on $10,000 for an entire year in 2012. I never pursued child support from the baby daddy, and in fact, I would have sent the money back if ever he did send it. I had to send in special letters to the state requesting them not to pursue child support. I said to myself, "I'll make my own money, I don't want to associate with him ever again."

I didn't want his dirty money, anyway.

When I disconnect from people, it's the end, a black hole, a ghost fills in the void where once someone was.

In 2016 I was in massive debt, too. I had been applying to good jobs for years and around the time I applied for my 250th job, complete with application and meticulously written cover letter, something in me snapped.

I was broken.

My self-esteem was destroyed. No one wanted to hire me even though I had a college degree, a decent track record, several careers as a production artist and prepress technician, plus a wealth of creative freelance work.

I was officially a loser.

I was a cast-off, part of the most hated group in the world: a single mother with barely any resources. Welcome the most depressing reality I'd ever encountered.

Due to my fragile health, both physically and mentally, I had to quit my car sales job. I got a a job as an Uber driver first, then as a delivery driver for Quicksilver. These were not career moves, these were survival moves. I was barely making ends meet, but at least I got out of the toxic car sales industry.

This is the state I was in when I broke down and wrote to Ramit Sethi. I sort of hate self-help gurus because I think they just take advantage of people. The only one I like is James Altucher, so on one of his podcasts, he had Ramit Sethi as a guest. I was surprised to learn that Ramit Sethi actually personally replies to every email he gets. That was the day I decided to test Ramit, and see if he would respond to me. No more screwing around. It was time to put Ramit to the test, and see if he could actually help me out of my financial misery.

Here's my desperate email to him:

Jan. 28, 2016

Dear Ramit,

I found you because I'm a hardcore James Altucher fan and I learned that you actually respond to every email you receive.
Anyway, I'm writing to you because I'm desperately seeking an answer to something that continues to elude me:
my financial situation.

Here's my problem: I do not know what sort of career can pay me the kind of money I now need.
I've had every kind of job conceivable.

It's only recently that I discovered what I'm quite good at and enjoy: writing books and doing everything myself.
I wrote and self-published a book in December, Un- Crap Your Life.

un.jpeg

I already have 10 reviews which is really good since I'm doing everything on my own, including formatting, marketing, etc. I even received good feedback about my absurd book trailer that features an Indian news anchor announcing my book. I'm releasing content on BitTorrent soon....

Anyway, I'm also a realist. I know that writing books is not going to pay bills, at least not any time soon.
I'm halfway done with my next one, I USED TO BE HOT, and I'm basing this book on the statistics I gained from my Medium article with that same name. It has something like 1.8K views so far. That is a lot for Medium.com

Anyway, my writing seems to be taking off, and some editors are now asking me to be a writer for their publications (good sign that I'm doing something right.).

Now about the money. I'm fucked. I had a credit card debt that I let slide from 7 years ago.
I just got the notice in the mail that I will need to include it as 1099-C, all $19,000 in my taxes. I'm fucked.
I read that form 982 might allow me to be excused for the taxes, but still, it is super apparent that I need to make money now, not later. I could potentially owe a lot of money (that I don't have) to the government.
I tried to get lucrative paying jobs about 6 months ago and failed. My Linkedin profile makes no sense, except that I'm creative and I write.

I am now desperate to figure this out. Building a profitable business takes years. I have an email newsletter (with 74 subscribers), I have a few dedicated fans (one is building me a website for free, he loved my book so much), and it is going, BUT VERY SLOWLY. If it turns out I owe the gov. a bunch of money, I'm fucked. I only have $3,500 saved up, which is my backup money.
I'm feeling totally desperate and can't think straight.

What the fuck should I do?
Here's one of my other problems: I literally have 50 different ideas per day. My mind is terribly scattered, and I have severe issues with follow through. The only thing I am truly good at at the moment is writing and coming up with insane ideas.
All I know is that I need money, lots of it right now. What is a plan of action that I could realistically do?
Thanks for any ideas you might have. This is bad, very bad.......

Sincerely,
Leah Stephens

Read part 2 to find out what Ramit Sethi's email response was.

Sort:  

Hello, i like your history and i'd wanted to make a traslation of this ona and the part 2 into spanish, can i?

yes, please do and keep all the rewards. I allow translations of all my posts. thanks

This guys doesn't make any sense. I read his newsletter for a while and got nothing useful for my life. blah blah blah, all bullshit with no real solution.

I really wanted to test Ramit!!!!!! I just got to the "I don't give a fuck" part of life...
yeah, his advice was useless!!!!

Man i always thought sethi was cringy, but i never thought he was asshole as well, he has evolved.

i love indians.
Amitabh Bachan is my fav:

Wow cool, well eh i would love to hear the story, in a year or two when i hit puberty :)

oh no. you're a child. i will remove that comment....i never think i am talking to a child. I am sorry

No no its ok, its not your fault, lol im sorry if i said anything faulty

Lol wow i used to watch his movies, by the way the reaction of that saudi in the background, man its priceless XD

oh me too! i love old school bollywood

ha ha! i didn't notice that...it's funny.
i also love the way Indians shake their head back and forth. i want to do that too

Lol My dad used to do that too XD

I like his son's wife...
lol. Ashwarya is so pretty...

I read the other part too and I have to say it is awesome, motivating @stellabelle . you kinda helped me out. Thanks a lot. Heres my post on similar experience. If interested please read and lemme know. https://steemit.com/life/@surreal/sometimes-it-is-okay-to-lose

thanks, i am glad it is motivating. Those emails have just been sitting in my account for 6 months.

Haha.. Thats gud too. You have now motivating stories to tell people :)

It just shows that debt as income to you. Obviously, you don't have to pay the entire amount back. I am no accountant.

So, now I have had the time to follow up to your first post . It's funny how people find each other. In 2005, right after I married my high school sweetheart, and having two children, our house lost over $100,000 in value. This was during the 2008 crisis....After spending all the money from our wedding to fix up the house..... we lost it. After going to college, buying a home, and then losing that home . I WAS BASICALLY FUCKED! That's when I started to read CHOOSE YOURSELF, and it changed my life, esp. changed how I see the world! Since then I have been a huge fan/follower of JAMES ALTUCHER. Podcasts, books, reading lists, ten ideas a day, the whole bit. It was an amazing thing it helped me through the hardest time of my life. Made me see what really important to me .... Anyway, I'm excited to have found your story/work. My high school sweetheart and I are A STILL HAPPILY MARRIED and we have three healthy beautiful children. I am a better man because of it. It also lead me to crypto and STEEM ! So thats part of my story .....Looking forward to more of your work! Thanks Ryan313

wow, cool story! I can relate to, since i used to think 401k's were a good idea. Not anymore. James helped me a lot too!

:)

Can't wait for part 2 haha "What the fuck should I do?" that made me laugh😂 Straight forward. I can't wait to see the response. Thanks for sharing.

ha ha! Desperation does make for fun times!!!!!

It's crazy. I feel like I'm going through a similar situation. I had an opportunity to become a real-estate agent in a VERY good market. But I didn't want to manipulate people into making purchases that large - it goes against my beliefs ( almost every real estate agent is a snake so it's hard to compete in that market without manipulation ). A while after I turned down the opportunity, things went south. I had dept, I was barely paying rent. I was feeling like a complete failure. Things are getting better as of now though - I'm slowly recovering.
It's really just good to see other people's perspectives and what they went through.
I really look forward to reading part 2 @stellabelle. Don't rush to write it though, the longer and more detailed - the better ;)

yes, many of us are in desperate situations, or have been....

That is an incredible dedication to make something on your own, even though life did not look after you. I'm glad I see you in a position you are today! How long do we wait for part 2?

it's ready now to be read!

wow, that was quick, reading it right away

Definitely interested to see part 2! I have actually followed Ramit for a few years now, never reached out to him though. I focused more on using his tools to help me in my professional career, not the info he puts out on starting your own business etc. His advice on how to get a raise actually did work for me; although I also have a very unique boss that treats those of us that work for her as family, so I sometimes feel like that may have played a role as well. Anyways, I'm rambling, but you've got my attention!

maybe his advice does work for normal people. BUT I DON'T FEEL NORMAL.

Yeah, up until recently I had been on the more normal pathway, so I think you are right on that point. As I continue to write I'll have to see how his advice applies!

You have a good story here... can't wait to read the part 2.

Oh the part 2 is on the link at the bottom... my bad. Nice ending...congrats on your steemit achievement. You are an inspiration.

i like engaging with people...that's half of it.

Good for you not to take the bastards money!

That's interesting, because I only recently became familiar with Ramit Sethi myself after listening to a Pat Flynn podcast. But I was more interested in his marketing strategies than his self-help advice. Learned a few new tips, but most of the stuff he does is nothing different than what most successful online marketers do.

I'm looking forward to Part 2! :) Resteemed.

"marketing strategies"

Tell him to give me some advice too and I'll get rich by ignoring it... Hahaha.. Thnks for sharing :)

you are free to write to him. in some way i think it did help to have someone know my dirty secrets and then respond to me....you should try it

Sure... Thnku very much :)

OMG THE CLIFFHANGER

I wrote something similar to https://twitter.com/CodyShirk for investing advice under hyperinflation .

He gave me some good tips but that was it , no ground breaking stuff
Hope what he said was good

There is always up and downs in life finally steemit is correct plotform to you to express your views. Your writings are creative and a unique style.

Looking forward to hearing what they said. I don't know much about the guy but browsing through his website, he seems like one of those run of the mill "gurus".

I'm interested to see the response! I've been reading his newsletter and blogs for a while and can only imagine the reply...

ha ha! just read it now....what do you think?

I don't think he beats around the bush, he's got very clear views on certain topics and his advice seems to be working for a lot of his students, but I'm not sure if it's a good fit for everyone as with any coach!

ramit doesn't beat around the bush? his emails and blogs are sales pages that go beyond the limits of any parallax wordpress theme only to end with a call to action, not about how he can help you, but how you can help him to sign up for his brand new course.

When it comes to giving his opinion, I don't think he does. Obviously his sales page is designed to do one thing: generate sales. If you are going to spend $1000+ on a course, yes you would want plenty of information, value demonstrated and testimonials. If you're not considering to buy, yes then don't waste your time reading the sales page. He's got plenty of free information in his newsletter and on his blog.

i thin you missed the point. EVERYTHING is a sales page. everything he says could be said in 2-3 paragraphs.

He uses social psychology on you to get you to sign up. i'm in the business for a living, but not with his tactics.

I bet you haven't dug deep, i mean real deep, and checked his testimonials. You'd be surprised at what you would find...or not find in many cases.

I'm not here to either defend or put him down, this is just what I've experienced from reading his content.

oh waw . very good story .

Well I know a bit more about Ramit Sethi now!

Interesting post

😂 i like him

What a cliff hanger, LOL

i am pretty close to where you have been.. thinking to give him a chance as a lucky charm.

yes, send him an email. tell him i sent you. :)

I love the letter to him and how you kept saying I'm fucked. I love how it is uncensored. Now I'm ready for part 2!

i've been saying 'i'm fucked' for years.

How did you have such strong hands during the Steemit Recession? With all the financial hardship weren't you ever like, "I could power all this down and solve some of my problems"
Now you are almost sitting on a quarter million and you still aren't powering down.
I'm not trying to say you should or shouldn't. I'm just curious about your thought process on all of it. You walk to your own beat which is rarely seen these days.

oh dear Brian, I had a master plan which i created. I so dearly wanted my creative freedom, that I was pushed to come up with a plan. Here it is:
There was point in March that I thought Steem could collapse. It was showing zero signs of growth, so here is what i did:
I went looking for signs of life in other coins, namely Dash.
I had been powering down the entire time, but I got really serious about, and i converted a lot of Steem to Dash, when Dash was $30 per coin. As you know, Dash is now $180.
Basically I diversified, bought cheap Dash with cheap Steem, and then turned that into a nice cushion. At the moment when Steem turned around in May, I stopped powering down, and now I'm very well diversified, plus I am working for the Dash DAO, which pays me directly from the Dash blockchain. I had to hustle, and bust my ass in order to get all this working, but now i feel more secure.....

Very good plan! Well played. I was only going to power down to where I still had 4,000 Steem Power but when I got to that point it seriously looked like Steemit had very little signs of turning around. I was giving it a 10% chance. I needed the money. 3 months ago I started doing very small posts just to test out the new hard fork and see if anything had changed on here. I did that for awhile and then suddenly everything came back to life overnight.
Unfortunately I have primarily missed out on this latest crypto surge. It is disappointing. Now I'm figuring I will have to just try to position myself for the next run. Most of my money is in real estate right now.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $56.88 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

dude can you help me in finding more followers
i visited your blog and you have massive amount of followers that is impressive
if you find it difficult i will not mind
hoping for your response thank you