Beauty?

in #random3 years ago

I've been watching "Pretend it's a City" on Netflix featuring Fran Lebowitz. I have to say, so far, I don't find her belly laugh material. Sure, she has a dry whit that actually appeals to my style of humour, but I have found myself staring at the screen in bemusement at some of the interviewers, almost physically wetting themselves with laughter at her responses while I'm sat there thinking: "It's not that funny mush!" anyway, in a section of episode two they show a clip of a discussion she had with Spike Lee and I was fascinated because it was, imo, a classic example of someone who thinks they are right, gives what they feel is evidence to substantiate that their right when in fact they're wrong! Something I come up against daily.

Fran Lebowitz maintains that there are only two types of Artists; Musicians and Painters, while Spike Lee feels that, for example, Michael Jordan deserves to be in that category too. Fran Lebowitz went on to set out her case as to how a painters work went on to be admired long after they were dead, but in her view, you wouldn't watch an old game of Michael Jordan because you knew how the game was going to end and therefore it was pointless to watch. Spike Lee responded that watching him score was like watching an artform as one asked oneself "How did he do that?" but Fran Lebowitz was having none of it, and this is where she's wrong because it was clear she had forgotten the golden rule: "Beauty is in the eye of the beholder."


image source

When I was younger, they built The Barbican in London. It was billed as an exclusive and desirable place to live it even achieved a Grade II listing but there's still no getting away from the fact it's basically a stained, dirty, concrete carbuncle and this is what I mean by Beauty of the beholder. An Artist can produce both good and bad it's the work, that defines an Artist not the creator. But Fran Lebowitz was unconvinced and waived the argument away with a flick of her "I'm right!" hand.

The Need To Be Right


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!

"If you don't have enough voting power or crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

All art is subjective and you would struggle to find anything that everyone likes. We can each have an opinion of what types of art there are or what can be considered art. I think a lot of 'modern' stuff is garbage, but some will pay millions for it. I can be a bit old fashioned in liking to see some craft as well as imagination.

Congratulations @dickturpin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 54000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation