Random Japan #66 :: Gacha Gacha

in #randomjapan6 years ago (edited)

Hello, wonderful and amazing readers, and welcome to the latest issue of your favorite look at Japan Random Japan, that Steemit series that attempts to look at all that is random, plain, and ordinary in everyday life in the land of the rising sun.

Today—Gacha Gacha!

Ready? Good. Let's get started. Let's enter into...

Random Japan!

Gacha gacha is an onomatopoeia. It is the sound of something rolling with maybe a bit of a rattle inside. The sound fits perfectly with those little plastic bubbles containing small and cheap toys and how they rattle around as you turn the handle to get them out of the machine, giving the machines their name.

Long lines of these machines are everywhere. Today I took my kids to the toy store. As they played, I noticed some unusual new additions to the gacha gacha machines. I thought today I'd share a few of them with you.

Man, if I were ever tempted to buy one of these cheap plastic toys, it would be this one.

I'd say more unique toys like these are about 50% of the machines you see these days, obviously targeting older men and women instead of children.

Moving on...

For all cat lovers.

And slime lovers. You know, slimes have actually been a thing ever since the 80s. Blame Dragon Quest.

If you ever felt the need to have mochi that looks back at you, here you go!

Cat lovers again.

Horror movie fans are covered too.

There are many many more, but we will leave it at that for now. Maybe a sequel will be in order for the future! Let me know what you think.


That's all, folks. Thank you for staying with me through today's exploration. Any favorites? Let me know in the comments. And me sure to turn in next time when, if providence allows, I shall return for another Random Japan. See you then!

If you like this random photo from Japan, be sure to check out @kaliju's great Random Korea series. The latest entry there is My Random Korea #51 - Street Markets and Recharging VP

Also be sure to follow @kafkanarchy84, @maxinpower, @boxcarblue, and @wllmdnnd for even more random Japan fun! @jrvacation and @mweich have the occasional randomjapan post too. Then over in China we have @nobyeni with her occasional randomchina post.

Are you a Japan-based or Asia-based photographer who posts somewhat random photos from the country? If so, use the tag #randomasia, #randomjapan or randomCOUNTRYYOUAREIN on your posts.









Missed a past Random Japan? I've got you covered!

Index Posts
Recent Posts

61. A Walk Near the Train Station
62. It's Time For
63. A Random Walk
64. A Random Walk, pt 2
65. A Shrine Trip and Moss

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time. More?

If this blog post has entertained or helped you, please follow/upvote/resteem. Also, consider buying me a beer.

BTC: 1Gvrie5FDBNBb6YpGBiaTvA5AyvsP814BN
ETH: 0x2Ce5c2b5F3f1a888b50A7bA9002E4F742784dF9c
LTC: LUVLvatsFqCubrJAVmCNQaoUdFAdnUCysU
BCH: qrzdazep5xfxax0ydppun89cxfts2vup9q4wnfn025

Thank you :)

Sort:  

Thank you for your sharing Gacha so much. Reading this blog brings me a lot of pleasure. It is the first time for me to hear about Gacha, so lovely and funny. I even especially check about Gacha via baidu.com(Chinese Google) and watch how Gacha works on video.
Screenshot_20180727-130003.jpg

I'm glad you enjoyed the post @ginafraser. Do you have anything like these in China?

Oh, maybe there are some little toys like these in China, but I have never seen any toys being sold in the machine like Gacha. It reminds me that my late American husband once showed me a lot of Japanese whimsical pictures online, and we browsed them together one by one interestingly.