Memorial Day what it means

in #rant6 years ago

Something that makes me angry is someone thanking me for my military service on Memorial Day. This day is set aside for rememberance of American hero’s that gave every thing for your freedom.

Such as the 4424 soldiers killed in Iraq. Where I served 2 tours.

Veterans Day is to thank a soldier or veteran, Memorial Day is to learn about a fallen soldier and remover them.

Several friends never made it back from one of their tours. This is the day I remember them. 1CC56BBB-D718-4195-821E-CA1BE68E4B16.jpeg

I have also been in charge of laying to rest over 90 soldiers. While on funeral details.

One of the hardest things in this world is presenting a grieving family with the American flag from their loved ones casket. Than saying “the nation thanks you for your sacrifice”, as you hand them the flag.

Sort:  

I get mad because many people think this is just a day to BBQ and get drunk with friends. Without those vets sacriface it could be we would not have that freedom.

I feel the same way. Are you supposed to say "you're welcome?" no you just nod and look stupid and feel pissed off.
That's a shit detail you got stuck with, I'd take two tours of nothing but burn barrel duty over that.