You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sorry, not sorry

in #rant4 years ago

Thank you so much for asking this question @fenngen. Absolutely, it is enjoyable to be approached by someone, male or female, because otherwise, how would anyone ever meet someone new? Someone has to be the brave one and take the risk of making first contact. For me though, it is about context. For example, in the situation I described, I was clearly not doing anything to invite conversation. I was closed off by giving my attention to my laptop and my headphones. I have been in social settings where I want to make contact and signal that by making eye contact, displaying an open posture, and keeping my attention open to the environment. I connected with one of my best mom friends by being the person to make first contact when we were both at a park together, but I realized it would be ok to approach her because she was making eye contact with me, there on her own, and open to the social situation. I think it comes down to paying attention to nuances and context, and trying to see things from another person's perspective instead of focusing on our own objective - which is a skill we all need to learn anyway. I really appreciate your comment. Thank you 🌱

Sort:  

I think it comes down to paying attention to nuances and context, and trying to see things from another person's perspective instead of focusing on our own objective - which is a skill we all need to learn anyway.

That's very insightful, we tend to focus so much on what we want that we lose all empathy.

Thank you as well for being open and sharing your perspective on this. We live difficult times, we all want to be loved but have a difficult time loving others.

While patriarchy and feminism clash against one another, empathy and understanding get thrown into a shadowy corner and we become at odds with ourselves.

Men and women doubting if they are real men and women or if they should destroy these ideas once and for all. But we'll come around I hope. As long as we listen instead of imposing, we'll learn the way to bring balance about.