Post Malone's Rockstar was Ghostwritten?!?

in #rap6 years ago (edited)

post.jpg

I was scrolling through twitter when I saw Joey Bada$$ tweeted about dropping a new song with fellow Pro Era member Kirk Knight. I went back to his profile a few hours later to see if the song dropped to find a couple more tweets.

joey1.png

Joey and T-Pain were on the original version of Rockstar!

joey2.png

Joey casually drops that he helped Post Malone write the track. I am not loving his use of the term "ghostwriting". Currently, ghostwriting has a negative connotation. In this situation, some people might assume Joey completely wrote Post Malone's part.

Regardless, I listened to this original version and I felt that Joey and T-Pain did not fit the track as well as 21 savage. Joey and T-Pain are lightyears above 21 in terms of talent, but I think 21's style worked on the song.

I will be interested to see why Post Malone did not use the original version.