Raspberry Pi Rack/Blade

in #raspberry5 years ago

Over the past few years, I have collected a number of raspberrypi computers. This growing collection has been hanging from a piece of particle board by network cables and power cables so it has looked very unorganized.

Recently, on Thingiverse I found a rackmount blade center for mounting multiple PIs.

It took about 35 hours total to print it out on the 3d printer at work but I was thrilled with the result.

pirack_fresh_from_printer.jpg

pirackcut_out.jpg
cutting out the opening to mount the rack - the cut wasn't as even as I would have liked but I was in a hurry

pirackscrewed_in.jpg
the rack is screwed into place - all of the drawers have been removed

pirack_1_pi_in_place.jpg
I love it!

All that is left is to add more PIs and start connecting power and ethernet cables!

pirack01.jpg

  • I would really like to figure out some way to mount the 3 older Pi (2 and 2B) but I have not found a draw model that matches their different mounting holes yet.
  • I need to figure out some better cable management so it looks neater
  • I ran out of room on my two eight port switches (shown) so I have had to connect some of them using wifi
Sort:  

That is really cool. I have a few Pis, but am not making full use of them.

Thank you. I keep thinking of ideas for different ways to use them but I just don't have enough time.

Posted using Partiko Android

I did run Pihole for a while. I also had one running Home Assistant to automate a few things, but have not got it running again since I had an issue with it. Need to find time for that. I have a Model B, a 3 and two Zeroes.

Nice! I run pihole too. Do you have a link for the Home Assistant? I run a few wordpress blogs using http://presspi.com/.

Posted using Partiko Android

Home Assistant is pretty amazing. It interfaces to just about anything, but you do have to learn to configure it. I think they are working on making that easier.

Thank you for the link. It looks interesting. Recently, I listened to a podcast on https://mycroft.ai/ which I remembered after seeing the project you used.

Posted using Partiko Android

so what does one do with all these pis?

like i have a thermostat-pi... a kodi-pi (media) and webserver-pi ...

i think i saw somewhere that you can parrallel compute with them.

I have never done any parrallel computing. I am using them for pi-hole dns, several wordpress sites, BBS, fossil version control repository, several mako web servers, burp backup server and a few more just to play around with. Oh, I also use 1 for syslog and another for monitoring all of them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting. Thanks for the reply.