Raspberry Pi 5 with NVMe Boot

in #raspberrypi4 months ago


Having seen Jeff Geerling's video on YouTube about installing and booting a Raspberry Pi 5 from an NVMe I stuck my name down on the waiting list not only for a Pi 5 (8GB) but also for Pimoroni's NVMe board offering.

I'm a sucker for these little cheap computers. I probably own over ten Raspberry Pi's now, and the add-ons you can get for them are mind-blowing, not to mention the uses you can find for them.

The order arrived yesterday, but it was too late in the day to start messing with it.

First things first, I had to set up an SD card with Pi Imager. Most Pi owners will have a stack of these lying around. Pi Imager is brilliant; with the latest version, you have the ability to set some parameters before burning the image, such as enabling ssh, setting a login password, Hostname and various other options, which save so much time.

Having installed the Active Cooling Fan, which was dead easy I moved on to preparing the Pi 5. There are actually two ways of enabling your Pi to boot from NVMe.

Log into your Pi 5 (Usually via ssh)

Option 1

Run sudo raspi-config
In the 'Advanced' section, select NVMe Boot.
Reboot your Pi 5

Option 2

Run sudo rpi-eeprom-config --edit
Add a 6 to the Boot Order, so it looks like this BOOT_ORDER=0xf416
Reboot your Pi 5

I chose option two mainly because I like doing things via CLI (Command Line Interface)

You would have thought it was dead easy to put the NVMe Base together, but there are a lot of screws in the bag, so I watched the videolike some n00b. 😂

There's no rush; take your time. It is better to work slowly and get it right; there's nothing worse than bolting it all together only to have to pull it apart again.

Having pulled the SD card out, it was time to see if the Pi 5 booted off the NVMe - Success! Time to do a victory dance with a smattering of twerking thrown in.

I moved on to doing the usual stuff, updating the OS, etc. "What are you gonna do with it, Pete?" Umm? I've not thought that far ahead! I just wanted to own it - Ooh, Shiny! 😂

Rule 347

If you don't have parts left over, you haven't put it together right! 😂


Image created by irisworld

My actual name is Pete. Here is why I have the username dickturpin.


You can also find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://castlecannon.house/profile/dick_turpin
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Creative Commons Licence
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.

"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

Is it quick to boot up? I've not got a Pi 5 yet. I think my newest is a 3. I've also not looked into NVMe storage. I am out of date on PC hardware generally. I built my PC a few years back with an SSD and it's worked fine for me. I do feel that having a Pi running a few services 24/7 might be useful. I might even look at Home Assistant again.

Have fun.

!BEER

Yeah, amazingly fast compared to previous Pi's

I just replaced my home PC before Christmas. It wasn't cheap. 😞

I don't play games, so don't need super performance. I hope this PC will run for a few more years. I've not even looked at prices in ages whereas back in the day I was always checking on the price of various bits. A quad core AMD with 8GB is 'good enough'.


Hey @dickturpin, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

I was doing good until you said you threw in some twerking.

So many bad images went through my mind. Lol.

LOL

Try this "Mind Bleach" on for size. One of my daughters gave me a £25 Amazon gift card for Christmas. I sent her a text.

Obviously, I meant the box. 😉🙄

ROFL!
That is an instant classic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Damn! I forgot yhe last photograph.