Install Ubuntu 20.04 64 Bit on a Raspberry Pi

in #raspberrypi4 years ago

Want to try out the new Ubuntu 20.04 for the Raspberry Pi? You have come to the right place, let me walk you through it.

You will first want to download the Raspberry Imager software, it is the best option as it has a lot of choices and it is really easy to use. It also supports all popular operating systems.

After you choose your OS and install it, launch it and you should see the following screen. You will need an SD card connected to your computer before starting.

Let's choose the OS.

For this tutorial, we are going to select Ubuntu.


If you have a Raspberry Pi 3 or 4, I would recommend selecting 64 bit.


Choose your SD card

You can also use this tool to prepare flash drives and SSD disks. The Raspberry Pi 3 & 4 both support boot from USB and offer massive performance improvements over SD cards.


Select Write


Make some Hot Chocolate

This step will take a little time.


Hopefully you still have some hot chocolate

You can cancel the verification, but it only takes a few minutes.
SD Cards are notoriously unreliable.


Boom!

Remove the SD Card and insert it into the Raspberry Pi


Find your Raspberry Pi

I recommend using Ethernet to connect to the Pi, but you will need to know the IP Address.

I recommend using nmap to find it.
After installing nmap, type in:

nmap -sP 10.75.54.0/24

Replace the Network with your local network and look for the IP associated with the Raspberry Pi Foundation device. We will use this IP to SSH into the Pi.


SSH to your Pi

Using your favorite SSH software (which should be SecureCRT), connect to the Raspberry Pi where you will be prompted to immediately change your password.


Update the package list

This is the first thing I do with new installs.

sudo apt update


Install updates

This next step will take some time to do on the Raspberry Pi depending on what version you have.

sudo apt dist-upgrade


Update to the latest Raspberry Pi firmware

sudo apt full-upgrade


That's it!

You are now running Ubuntu 20.04 64 Bit on your Raspberry Pi and are fully updated and ready to do whatever makes you happy.


All images are screenshots from the official Raspberry Pi Imager Software


Securely chat with me on Keybase

Why you should vote me as witness

Sort:  

I am a terrible person who wants to install Windows XP on my new Pi. I also have a Windows 2000 (not ME) install CD somewhere. I just want to know if I can run my old games natively via a disc image and virtual CD drive again.

You see the XP Skin for the Pi I posted about a few weeks ago?

I did not see your post, but I have been considering that build. I have also been looking into whether a virtual machine might be a better option, too. I am still waiting for my new SD cards to arrive before I start going crazy with OS experimentation, because I plan to leave the one I got in my kit as-is.

This is just a skin for Linux for nostalgic reasons and that's it.

Good news

There's a prebuilt installer out there with that skin, DOSbox, and other emulation software all preconfigured.

Perfect way of delivering a tutorial on the installation of Ubuntu on rasberry Pi. Images made it much simpler. I hope others will follow your guideline for making a tutorial. Good job @themarkymark. Gitplait is looking for a user like you.

Your post has been curated with @gitplait community account because this is the kind of publications we like to see in our community.

Join our Community on Hive and Chat with us on Discord.

[Gitplait-Team]

Nice tutorial on this. I can't remember what version I have on my Pi as it has been a while since I worked with it. I guess I should get it back out and boot it up sometime.

If you don't remember it is likely Raspbian, Ubuntu support is really new.

That is most likely what it is as that sounds right.