My Reading Log: Interesting Stuff From the Past Few Days (2018-08-24)

in #readinglog6 years ago (edited)

I keep track of any posts on the Steem blockchain which I've found worth reading. Here's the stuff I've enjoyed over the last few days.

logo_v1.png

Happy reading!

Big beautiful world

Tripreport 1 - Nationalpark Berchtesgarden, Königssee

by @worldcapture

thumb

"Hey Followers & Steemians! I'm currently on vacation in Germany, the country I grew up. It's crazy how I feel about my hometown after beeing away for more then 18 months now and living in Thailand. I have the feeling that I appreciate the good air and the beautiful nature much more as in the time I…"


In The Wild Of Costa Rica

by @liquidtravel

thumb

"Costa Rica is considered by many to be the Switzerland of Central America. With the explosion of tourism, both positive and negative results have surfaced in this beautiful country. There are still many places where the wild Costa Rican jungles still reign supreme. These environs can still provide…"


Fjallsarlon Glacier Beach - Iceland

by @greddyforce

thumb

"Have you ever been to an arctic and icy beach? Doesn't matter, in this post I'm going to take you to Fjallsarlon. This place is located at eastern Iceland, not far from the town Hof. Its a part of the Vatnajökull national park. There are many huge glaciers nearby which produce melting water and this…"


The "B R A S O V" experience: What does that even mean?

by @holm

thumb

"You have never truly been to Brasov without going to the "sign" Living in the city of Brasov there's a huge sign just like Hollywood on top of a small nearby mountain spelling "B R A S O V". Since I was to live in this magnificent city, I felt like I first would truly be integrated when I hiked to…"


Wednesday walk challenge, by @tattoodjay - A walk in the Berloi Waterfalls, Aileu, Timor-Leste

by @nolasco

thumb

"Wednesday walk challenge, by my friend @tattoodjay :)) As you know by now, my daughter is here in East Timor with me, visiting with her best friend. Today was a public holiday, celebrating the Muslim en of Ramadan, the Idul Adha. Eid Mubarak, my friends Muslims here on Steemit! So, today we headed…"


12,000 year old Settlement Covered By Water! - The Story About the Traveling Band CASPIAN CARAVAN and the Story Overland To India part #8 - Hasankeyf, Turkey

by @frejafri

thumb

"Welcome again to the story about when I travelled overland to India with a band, funding all our expenses with music. A journey that took 1 year and 8 months, through 32 countries! catch up on the previous parts: Part 1 - West Turkey - The Beginning Part 2 - Central Turkey - Cappadocia & Malatya…"


Caodaism and their unique temple in Tay Ninh

by @steef-05

thumb

"Just 90 km away from the busy city center of Ho Chi Minh City, there is a beautiful temple waiting for you. It's called the Cao Dai Temple and it is one of the most colorful and coolest temples I've ever seen. So let me show you why you should pay a visit as well. Caodaism in short: A monotheistic…"


Jasper National Park: Wildlife bonanza, Day 1&2 30+ photos

by @ladybug146

thumb

"Hey Steemies! After much procrastination and life getting in the way, I finally sit to write about our recent camping trip to Jasper National Park. Well what can I say, we book pretty last minute and you can't do that to get a spot in the park, just FYI, we stay in the near by town of Hinton, it's…"


Geekery

Art - Gamora - Guardians of the Galaxy! Character Re-Design

by @beekart

thumb

"Hey Steeemmiiieees! Me again.. again.. I know! Sorry! :) Today it is time to share the 'Gamora ' re-design I did for this piece I'm working on.. Eventually I will put all these characters together into 1 image and try and make it look awesome ;) Here I share the process of how it came to be! Start…"


Extropia’s Retro Gaming: It Came From The Desert

by @extie-dasilva

thumb

"EXTROPIA’S RETRO-GAMING ‘It Came From The Desert’. ‘The desert. Unchanged for millions of years. Yet witness to a Biblical prophecy come true that, one day, the meek shall inherit the Earth’. So begins ‘It Came From The Desert’, which was developed by Cinemaware and published by Mirrorsoft and…"


More ImPRESSive Results...Elektra

by @blewitt

thumb

"Lately I’ve been going through my comic boxes and SLOWLY getting things organized. I was saddened to see this beautiful Elektra #2 Adi Granov 1:25 Variant sandwiched all cockeyed between the stacks. It just got dislodged and bent. It’s around a $40-$60 book and seeing that is basically like throwing…"


Arsenic Lullaby - Cthulhu trading card or comedy vs art vs science vs madness

by @arseniclullaby

thumb

"I'm showing this off today because I got word that FINALLY the trading card set the image was made for is getting produced. It's for a Monsterwax trading card set featuring the H.P. Lovecraft mythos. I'm told that my two cards will be foil embossed! (fancy stuff!) I've been waiting awhile to be able…"


Arte: Batman El Caballero Oscuro / ¡Realización Paso a Paso!

by @erick.esquivel

thumb

"Fuente Hola soñadores y gente ansiosa por la excelencia, les mando el más cordial y animoso de los abrazos. En esta ocasión les traigo un nuevo dibujo de nada más y nada menos que de Batman, un personaje tan icónico que su solo nombre se ha convertido en legado dentro de la cultura popular; tanto…"


Steem Monsters Gameplay Mechanics Revealed!

by @steemmonsters

thumb

"Here it is...the post that everyone has been waiting for. We are finally releasing the initially planned gameplay mechanics for Steem Monsters! The stats for all of the individual cards will be released shortly as well on the revamped website, and then the Monster team building and strategizing can…"


Backstreet Doodle

by @midlet

thumb

"Quick doodle of a back alley thug and his mark. She might look nice in holographic form, but she's definitely going to steal you wallet and possibly your third kidney. Don't trust em. This is from a music video I worked on storyboarding for a while. I took one of my boards and splashed some color on…"


Creature Feature #38. Nightgaunt. Just $0.25 on DriveThru. :^)

by @jeremyhartillos

thumb

"A bit late for Lovecraft's birthday. But here is a 5e Nightgaunt along with ample descriptive goodness as well as a paper mini and VTT token. For just a quarter."


New Venom Images

by @chickenmeat

thumb

"Sony has just showed off 2 new shots to the Venom movie. I am actually excited for this film. I like Tom Hardy and I think he will be a good Venom. What are your opinions? Will the film be good?"


Ithaqa Steemit RPG Week 4 Fight Monsters, Win Steem!

by @drwatson

thumb

"Hey all! Week 4 of the Ithaqa Steemit RPG begins now! Join to win free steem, and compete to see whose character will come out on top!"


History

Authentic Indian Cowboys

by @janton

thumb

"Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas, home of several native Indian tribes in times past, most notably the great Caddo Nation which were located in our very area before the federal government moved them into the Oklahoma Indian Territory. I did a series on their rise and…"


Shamanic Origins Of Medicine In Ancient China

by @metametheus

thumb

"The link between medicine and shamanism in ancient China can be found in the etymology of the words used to describe the practices, as well as other ancient texts. This story is an expansion from an original piece published on Facebook and Steemit, in October 2017 I recently came across an…"


Berks

Book News of the Day – H.P. Lovecraft's Bible up for auction at Heritage House.

by @rarebooksleuth

thumb

"You read that right! H.P. Lovecraft's family bible from 1881 is currently up for auction. It was gifted to his mother, with the inscription “Miss S. Susie Phillips. From her Mother. March 22nd, 1889.” It contains his birth record and his parents’ certificate of marriage, along with notes of Sarah…"


STEM

Strong & Powerful Women: Barbara McClintock

by @bluepanda

thumb

"Barbara McClintock was born in 1902, June 16th, in Hartford Connecticut. Her father Thomas Henry McClintock was a family doctor/physician and her mother Sara Handy McClintock was not only a housewife but also was a poet and an artist. Barbara had two sisters Mignon and Marjorie McClintock and a…"


Trans Fats And Heart Attacks: A Study Of Fat From People's Butts

by @justtryme90

thumb

"Today we are going to be discussing a publication out of PLoS One titled "Trans fatty acids in adipose tissue and risk of myocardial infarction: A case-cohort study." In this study, the authors tested fat samples obtained from patient's butts, looked at the types of fat they had stored and the…"


How Does An Underwater Archaeologist Do Their Job?

by @liquidtravel

thumb

"Archaeology is a subdivision of Anthropology which studies the cultural behavior and evolution of humans. Specifically, archaeologists systematically recover and study the material evidence remaining from past human lives and cultures to draw conclusions about past societies and how they might have…"


Steemitself

@steemhunt expanding outside STEEM: Taking It Into Social Commerce

by @taskmaster4450

thumb

"@steemhunt is the first application that I am aware of that outpaced the traditional sites. According to their latest post, their numbers far exceed the comparable site Product Hunt. Here is a chart they put together. The theory here is that tokenization and providing incentive for hunts is more…"


Don't Wait for SMTs to Start Building Your Steem App

by @steemitblog

thumb

"Last week we announced the dates for our release of the SMT TestNet andMainNet, and in yesterday’s post we shared the open organization and tracking system for SMT development that will enable everyone to follow along as we progress toward those release dates. Now we’d like to highlight why…"


Introducing STEEMFOUNDERS - a new, FREE method of creating accounts

by @steemfounders

thumb

"Thirteen... This is how many accounts have been opened with the help of the tool created by our team. Perhaps it's still not much, but we think that in the Steem network, sending EVERY single user is extremely valuable. That's why Steemfounders was created and that's why, today, we decide to…"


Thoughts on earnings and delegations out

by @tarazkp

thumb

"It is no surprise that I am not a big fan of bots considering my history however, I have come to accept that they aren't going anywhere nor are they all entirely bad. However, there are many, many negative aspects to them and one of them is the ability to earn passive income. That isn't bad per se…"


Introducing SteemBluePages: a directory of useful things on the Steem blockchain [+ 15 STEEM DOLLARS PRIZE FOR RESTEEMING THIS POST!]

by @steembluepages

thumb

"Hi fellow Steemians. Welcome to our new Steemit directory, the @steembluepages, where we'll be listing everything useful on the evolving Steem blockchain as regular weekly posts. We hope the @steembluepages will help add more context to the Steemverse, while highlighting the very best services,…"


The Bundling Of STEEM, Bitshares, And EOS: Could It Really Be Happening???

by @taskmaster4450

thumb

"The first release of 24 tutorials about dWeb came out yesterday. It revealed the plans of creating a new foundation for the internet, one that is free from censorship and control by the large corporations. Many are fearing the further development that might replace Bitshares and STEEM. Actually,…"


Seriously, look in your wallet. Have you been invited?

by @artopium

thumb

"You may discover some SBD and an invitation similar to this one from a fellow Steemian asking if you'd like to automatically exchange upvotes on all of your posts. This invitation comes from a new service for the Steem blockchain called SteemAX, the "AX" stands for "auto-exchange". What is SteemAX?…"


[Steemhunt] SMT and Steemhunts relation

by @jayplayco

thumb

"Hi, @jayplayco here. Steemit Inc. has finally announced after the launch date of HF20 the dates for the test and main net of SMT. It is currently planned for the 15th of January to finish the development and launch the Testnet and fully release the Mainnet on Steem at 24th of March. To all readers…"


Have I Already Posted About This?

by @eveuncovered

thumb

"We all know Steemit is not very user friendly on the frontend side of things. Something I think would be highly needed is a better way to go through someones blog, especially when some of the users have been actively posting for over two years. I would love it if there was a way to easily go through…"


FOOD

Roasting Marshmallows Over Hot Lava?!

by @nomadicsoul

thumb

"I’d heard the rumors. And I had even seen the pictures that confirmed the rumors weren't too-good or too dangerous to be true (most of the time). There’s a place in Guatemala where you can hike to the top of a volcano and watch the lava bubbling up and flowing down the side, like a witch was…"


♥ Wild-Grape Jelly! An experiment gone RIGHT! ♥

by @squishysquid

thumb

"I don't have a lot of foraging opportunities on my property. We don't have a ton of acreage, and our animals free-range frequently, so they pretty much forage the crap out of it. My neighbors, however, do not have free-range anything, so when they told me that had wild-grapes growing willy-nilly,…"


Art and ornithology. I don't know what to call it, so @yidneth gets their own category

My ink drawing of "Yidneth and Peti" + photos and curious facts about European Robins

by @yidneth

thumb

"Yidneth and "Peti". Ink conceptual drawing for my forthcoming album "Fear no More". My illustration of Yidneth and "Peti" As I have mentioned before "Yidneth" is not myself but a character that appears recurrently in my albums, artworks and even a graphic novel I wrote and that works as the main…"


Writing

Introducing Our 100-Word Micro-Fiction Contest!

by @thewritersblock

thumb

"By: @jayna Welcome to the 100-word short story contest, hosted by The Writers’ Block. We are a community of writers and editors devoted to supporting high quality fiction and poetry, and we have many exciting plans in the works to raise the visibility of quality content here on Steemit. To read more…"


So, what's all this then?

My goals here are to foster interaction on steem and provide visibility for good content.

Why not just resteem

This is basically a UI issue; I've noted in my feed that some great accounts which resteem dozens of times a day tend to drown out other posts. Until there's a way to separate author-content from resteems in there general steem-verse (i.e. on Steemit), I don't like resteeming much.

Criteria and format

The only real criterion I have is that the article should be something I was happy to have read. Ideally, it would be recent enough to still be active for 3 to 4 days after I post. A few other other things:

  • There's no restriction on category, though I tend to read more STEM/nerdy stuff
  • The list is not exhaustive
  • If I left you off, it's not because I don't think your post was worth reading
  • I'm still figuring out how to arrange topics
  • Post order is like the point system on 'Whose Line Is It Anyway' - meaningless
  • If you're a prolific author, I might only list one post in full format, then mention others.
  • If I post your stuff a lot, I may leave you out from time to time to make room for others.
  • If time allows, I may provide commentary on posts, but right now I'm letting them stand on their own merits.
  • Artists! I'm trying to post your art in such a way that people can see enough of it to know if they want to follow the link. I definitely don't want to just repost your stuff in full resolution. Let me know what makes you happy.

Call to Action

I enjoyed compiling this list and you can do it, too. Even if your vote counts for nothing and you have 3 whole followers, start keeping track of what you actually liked reading and let the world know about it. I don't think there's a relevant tag yet, so let's go ahead and use #readinglog. If there is a better tag out there, let me know.

Remember, a community without interactions is just a bunch of people. Comment, vote, promote, even resteem!

Copyright Info

Logo modified from CC0 material on Pixabay by OpenClipart-Vectors, and released under the same.

Preview images are from the referenced posts and source information should be contained therein. Preview text is directly quoted from post and the property of that post's author(s).

Sort:  

You get ten bonus points if you ever get to use the section title "art and ornithology" again. ;)

Believe you me, I've been keeping an eye out for that opportunity all week.

Can we please put together a pool to buy Lovecraft's Bible? We have two weeks...

There's still time for you to start a fundition page...

Congratulations @justtryme90 and @extie-dasilva, the random number generator has smiled upon both of you, picking your posts from those who were featured today and telling me to sponsor your both for a share in @steembasicincome. The transfer should go active within a few days.

Thanks for featuring my post, @effofex! Cheers!

You're welcome, those falls were pretty incredible looking.

Great selection once again!

Always a great selection here!!!

Thank you for including my posts and what a lot of other interesting posts there! I'll be going through a bunch of them! <3

I'm glad you liked them. I found the stories of your travels fascinating.