My Reading Log: Interesting Stuff From the Past Few Days (2018-08-28)

in #readinglog6 years ago

I keep track of any posts on the Steem blockchain which I've found worth reading. Here's the stuff I've enjoyed over the last few days.

logo_v1.png

Happy reading!

Steemitself and related

[New Project] Smults a.k.a Steem MULti Tag Search

by @alvinvoo

thumb

"Background
When I first joined steemit, I found it very frustrating not being able to search using multiple tags. Steemit currently only able to search by ONE tag at a time and the 'advance search' is just a google custom search. As for busy.org, it can…"


Another Airdrop For Steemians? Sure, Why Not!!!

by @taskmaster4450

thumb

"Life on the STEEM blockchain just keeps getting better. SMTs are going to be the gift that just keeps on giving.

Source
@dlike announced that it is going to create a SMT based token that will be used to build their ecosystem. There will be 800M tokens…"


Released: Hardfork 20 Testnet!

by @steemitblog

thumb

"Hello Steemians! In our previous post outlining the changes that would be coming to the Steem blockchain with Hardfork 20 we also shared that we’ll be releasing a Testnet which would “give developers the opportunity to test the upcoming changes in a…"


The Deadpost Initiative - Week 38 - Share your most undervalued work ($15 STEEM rewards last week)

by @whatamidoing

thumb

"What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlooked during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal…"


Let's Make STEEM a Top 20 Cryptocurrency - SteemBlast September 3

by @timcliff

thumb

"As many of you have heard, I am organizing an Invest in Steem Social Media Blast Day. The goal of this event is to coordinate a massive social media "blast", where everbody starts talking about how amazing Steem is - all at once. I want to generate as much…"


Steemit Will Soon Become Intolerable

by @fknmayhem

thumb

"By which I don’t mean because of its users, although they are the cause.
Last week I lost two followers and, to be entirely honest, I understand them and may actually have done the same thing. While there was a certain irony to one of both being a resteem…"


Introducing UserAuthority (UA), @steem-ua and UA-API !

by @steem-ua

thumb

"Introducing UserAuthority (UA), @steem-ua and UA-API !

Great news! After a lot of research and months of development by @holger80 and myself (@scipio), we finally made it happen: UA is now a reality!
Introducing UA: a new kind of Reputation Score
For…"


Codin

The Quasar Framework joins forces with Utopian.io and the Steem Community

by @quasarframework

thumb

"eli5: It is easy to make computers do things. Quasar is there to make that even easier. Utopian is the most easiest way for people to work together. Easy + even easier + most easiest = AWESOME!
tl;dr; The MIT-Licensed Quasar Framework has begun to work…"


A CEO Diary #2: Utopian Vision. Which Problems Utopian is Trying to Solve?

by @elear

thumb

"I am continuing my journey with this diary, in my (very limited) spare time. Especially in recent days, I have felt the community needs to have a better understanding of the vision. Being busy with the many things Utopian requires, it's easy to overlook…"


STEM

We Created Plastic. We can't do without it. Now, We're Dying in it: A Study of how Degrading Plastic Emits Greenhouse Gases

by @olasamuel

thumb

"We will be talking about the recent study of how degrading plastic produces greenhouse gases, as it was published in [PLOS ONE titled "Production of methane and ethylene from plastic in the…"


mRNA modifications to overcome stability and delivery issues

by @aboutcoolscience

thumb

"In one of my previous posts I discussed the potential of using mRNA instead of plasmid DNA for gene therapy applications. Here, I wanted to discuss in greater detail what are the hurdles of such approach and what scientists are doing to overcome…"


A bike's stability is not as easy as it looks

by @greenrun

thumb

"After one or two falls we finally master the art of riding bicycles and often can't wait for the next school day to display our skill of riding to our friends. Riding a bicycle is easy, but have we ever paused long enough to understand how a bicycle…"


I’m planning a conference paper on decentralised social media and the spread of dangerous health rumours. Your feedback would be greatly appreciated!

by @nonzerosum

thumb

"In public health, when bad information is left unchecked the results of it can be deadly.
During the 2014/15 Ebola outbreak, misleading rumours…"


History

What's Wrong With The Term Anasazi, You Might Ask?

by @eaglespirit

thumb

"After quite a few requests from some of my fellow Steemians during one of my recent posts about my ancient ancestors, there was a bit of a fuss over my discontent with the word Anasazi. You can find my post here,…"


Crypto

ARK - Connecting Cryptocurrencies With Each Other

by @flauwy

thumb

"After being introduced to ARK by the delegate @jarunik, who promotes the ARK community on Steemit with the tag #arkecosystem, I have investigated a little bit about this fork of LISK and what it actually does. The result is pretty interesting and bears…"


Our Robot Overlords

Understanding Machine Learning and how algorithms work

by @theexcelclub

thumb

"The world is filled with a lot of data, pictures, music, text, video, spreadsheets. Machine learning brings the promise of delivering meaning from that data.
Human’s learn from experience. if we touch something hot, that burning sense is…"


DIY, gardens, and homesteading

How to make charcoal at home, easiest method. Pictures included.

by @bigdizzle91

thumb

"Charcoal has many uses, whether you want it for your grill or to use in art, it even has anti-odor and anti-moisture properties. Actually there are a lot more uses for charcoal than most think but for me, I just want to burn it. It's better than plain…"


Getting Down and Dirty in One of My Favourite Parts of the Garden

by @riverflows

thumb

"Does anyone else get excited about worms? I kinda squeal when I see big ones. I just think they're the best little critters known to man. I get this kinda childlike glee every time I uncover them in my garden.

Nobody likes me,
Everybody hates me,
Guess…"


Making a batch of plum wine

by @amberyooper

thumb

"Hello, steemians, and welcome to my page, eh!
This is the first batch of wine that I've made this year. I didn't feel like making rhubarb wine this year because I already have a couple of gallons of it in the basement from previous years.
We have 2 plum…"


Its Watermelon Time on HOP Farm

by @hopfarmnc

thumb

"It was time to go ahead and harvest the watermelons. With all the rain we've been getting lately a few of them started to crack and break open. We ended up getting 18 edible watermelons out of a 30 foot by 30 foot area. There were 6 watermelons that had…"


Geekery

Michael's Cable Action Lase-O-Rama: The Substitute (1996, Live Home Video)

by @modernzorker

thumb

"A number of years back, while in college, myself and a group of friends got into a…"


Earn Steem by playing NOKIA-style Snake

by @alexs1320

thumb

"Yet another way how to earn some steem - play Snake Game, just developed by @fbslo.
You can vote for him, to represents you as Witness.
THE GAME

It's a bit rough but still playable. As I see, it will be probably improved soon. In matter of days.
My…"


ART EXPLOSION WEEK 46: Theme MASKS [Bubonic Plague Steampunk Mask] entry

by @crittercrats

thumb

"The bubonic plague mask in Steampunk style twist. The gears and bolts compliment the leather and texturized inner lining. The metallic mechanisms and the lenses is an adittion to break the roundness and symmetry in the mask. This mask is not a perfect…"


Magic the Gathering 2017 SDCC Exclusive Planeswalker Set

by @blewitt

thumb

"For the past several years at the San Diego Comic Con, Hasbro has released a Limited Edition Magic the Gathering set to drive fans and collectors bonkers. Anyone who has gone to SDCC knows that taking a piss at Con has a stupid line, let alone snagging…"


Diablo III - Trial by Comics - My Second Entry

by @yanes94

thumb

"Good day and happy weekend.
For my second entry in the contest created by @kommienezuspadt the #TrialbyComics, I decided to make a drawing of the Diablo III Videogame, I do not have a console to play this game but I have seen many videos about the game…"


Piece of the “Lacustrine Cryptozoology” Series || Step by Step Process.

by @kamarongo

thumb

"Greetings, today I’ll present to you the step by step process of one of the pieces forming part of a drawing series that I started last year regarding figurative tendency, surrounding a topic inspired on anthropomorphic lacustrine characters,…"


Ithaqa Steemit RPG Week 5 Fight Monsters, Win Steem!

by @drwatson

thumb

"Hey all, here is another week for us to investigate mysteries and fight monsters together. Gotta say this is one of my favorite things I've brought to steemit. It…"


Amazing Spider-Man Symbiote Flashback

by @blewitt

thumb

"Here’s a look at an upcoming killer cover done by the amazing Italian artist, Gabrielle Dell’Otto. He’s been super hot and one of the big guns the past couple years so expect this to…"


Horror movie poster design process

by @jeremyrfk

thumb

"A quick process for how I designed the poster for the horror film "Antlers"
The film takes place in the deep pine forests of Sweden. It’s a modern take on classic 80’s horror films and games from the “golden era”. It also draws from the themes of H.P.…"


Steemgg Newsletter Issue #2 + Gamers Competition #2

by @steemgg

thumb

"G'day Steemians, this is @stabilowl and Welcome to the Second Issue of Steemgg Newsletter. Each week, I will be reporting New games on the Steemgg Platform, reviewing a featured game, and run a competition so that everyone can get involved!

Special…"


Space jokey - My ink and pencil drawing

by @anonimous

thumb

"…"


Art

Galaxy Posca Pen Art

by @la-fumettista

thumb

"Now that I've gotten a hang of my new posca markers, I decided to experiment a little with this illustration.
After laying down a blue base for her skin, I took my handy-dandy cheap-o makeup sponges (I normally use them to do gradients or other designs…"


Big beautiful world

Trekking and wildlife spotting in Picos de Europa

by @pardinus

thumb

"Picos de Europa is a Natural Park in Spain, in Asturias region. It is a mountains region (Picos de Europa is spanish for Peaks of Europe), with peaks as high as 2600m!
Here one of the most famous peaks, Naranjo de Bulnes
For me one of the main…"


Kinkakuji - The Golden Pavilion Zen Temple in Kyoto

by @jrvacation

thumb

"Kinkakuji (金閣寺) is one of the many top tourist attractions in Kyoto. This Zen temple is 3 storey high with the top 2 covered with gold leaf, making it an absolute beauty together with the surrounding pond and greenery.
We visited Kinkakuji on a sunny…"


Photographing the Alps - Stubai Valley Magic

by @mibreit-photo

thumb

"This summer I visited the Stubai Valley three times. It's such a beautiful and photogenic area in the Austrian Alps that I just had to come back again and again. And I will certainly do so next year.
On my recent trip into the Alps I went to photograph a…"


Hiking in Yosemite National Park

by @spc

thumb

"A month or two ago, before the California wildfires closed the park, I spent two days traveling through Yosemite National Park. I was well into California on my road…"


Ulog 16 - Curved Ridge: feeling the fear and doing it anyway!

by @natubat

thumb

"Just a few days ago I had my scariest, most challenging as well as most exhilarating and exciting mountain day ever!
Under guidance, I climbed Curved Ridge of Buachaille…"


Third trip to the Amazing Fuego volcano!

by @lavidaesunviaje

thumb

"Hi everybody!
I wrote and post this before when I was just starting on steemit and it didnt got me as many upvotes nor comments as I believe it deserves so, I'm posting it again and I hope you like it! :)
Twice before i climbed the acatenango to see lava,…"


Exploring Malta: The Red Tower and Fort Campbell

by @slobberchops

thumb

"The Red Tower
The fact that we were in eye shot from our hotel of a structure built around 1649 was always going to get my attention.

Being a striking looking red tower made it even better, and located on a prominent mountain top made it quite…"


Standing tall in Battery Park City

by @tattoodjay

thumb

"Standing tall in Battery Park City
For this post, I thought I would share a couple of the cool features in Battery Park city

A few things to see in this shot, the old style lampost on the left, the cool mesh style feature Standing tall.
And in the…"


Slow Life in Sfantu Gheorghe Romania

by @vladcraciun

thumb

"The moment when summer days kick in, my thoughts automaticaly fly away to the sea. Me, weeks later. This year I fullfiled a desire that was on my bucket list since a few years ago. Going to…"


Life advice

Nonfiction Review: You Have the Right to Remain Innocent by James Duane (2016, Little A)

by @modernzorker

thumb

"Believe it or not, this is the single most important self-defense tip you will ever learn from the Internet, and the best part is, anyone, regardless of age or…"


Cars

1936 Buick land speed car at Bonneville

by @socky

thumb

"This old Buick caught my eye in the impound area at 2018 Bonneville Speed Week.
It is a 1936 Buick with some custom aerodynamic body work added to the front. I did some research and found this one is driven by Brian Blake of Blake Machine. This crazy…"


So, what's all this then?

My goals here are to foster interaction on steem and provide visibility for good content.

Why not just resteem

This is basically a UI issue; I've noted in my feed that some great accounts which resteem dozens of times a day tend to drown out other posts. Until there's a way to separate author-content from resteems in there general steem-verse (i.e. on Steemit), I don't like resteeming much.

Criteria and format

The only real criterion I have is that the article should be something I was happy to have read. Ideally, it would be recent enough to still be active for 3 to 4 days after I post. A few other other things:

  • There's no restriction on category, though I tend to read more STEM/nerdy stuff
  • The list is not exhaustive
  • If I left you off, it's not because I don't think your post was worth reading
  • I'm still figuring out how to arrange topics
  • Post order is like the point system on 'Whose Line Is It Anyway' - meaningless
  • If you're a prolific author, I might only list one post in full format, then mention others.
  • If I post your stuff a lot, I may leave you out from time to time to make room for others.
  • If time allows, I may provide commentary on posts, but right now I'm letting them stand on their own merits.
  • Artists! I'm trying to post your art in such a way that people can see enough of it to know if they want to follow the link. I definitely don't want to just repost your stuff in full resolution. Let me know what makes you happy.

Call to Action

I enjoyed compiling this list and you can do it, too. Even if your vote counts for nothing and you have 3 whole followers, start keeping track of what you actually liked reading and let the world know about it. I don't think there's a relevant tag yet, so let's go ahead and use #readinglog. If there is a better tag out there, let me know.

Remember, a community without interactions is just a bunch of people. Comment, vote, promote, even resteem!

Copyright Info

Logo modified from CC0 material on Pixabay by OpenClipart-Vectors, and released under the same.

Preview images are from the referenced posts and source information should be contained therein. Preview text is directly quoted from post and the property of that post's author(s).

Sort:  

yay! thank you so much for this feature, you are awesome and this curation post is lovely. xo

That's very kind of you to say, I had no idea about any of the issues surrounding the term.

We've got similar-but-not-quite-the-same stuff on the east coast about the terms 'Cherokee' and the struggles of the Lumbee to be recognized. I'll admit I'm not an expert on that, but there's a fair amount of Lumbee students at my Uni who have been raising awareness.

@effofex no worries, awareness is soo important!

Hi @effofex! We are @steem-ua, a new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! Your post is eligible for our upvote! Thanks for your contribution, keep up the good work, and feel free to join our Discord server!

Now that I have seven other tabs open to go read ...lol. Thanks for the finds! I'm excited about multi-tag search, that one is one of the tabs for sure. :D

You keep reading and I'll keep feeding tabs. :)

Enabler! ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a lot @effofex for the support and the mentioning. ;)

You're welcome. The photos were pretty and relaxing at the same time.

There were some great posts here (like Picos de Europe post). Thx.

I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Congratulations @amberyooper and @pardinus, the random number generator has smiled upon both of you, picking your posts from those who were featured today and telling me to sponsor your both for a share in @steembasicincome. The transfer should go active within a few days.

Now this was a surprise! Thank you very much, and I'm glad you liked the post! And good initiative, lots of interesting posts in your list. Agree with you, sometime the problem with resteems is contributing for letting original posts harder to find on the platform, with all the content being produced. Will keep an eye on future selections!

I knew there were mountains in Spain, but I had no idea they were so rocky and craggy. To a person who grew up in the Eastern US, we kind of assume most of Spain looks like Andalusia and that the mountains are more like rolling hills . Thanks for opening my eyes.

My pleasure! These ones are beautiful, but just a small sample of the amount of big mountains throughout Spain ;)

Sounds like another place to add to the growing travel wishlist.

Eheh I have that growing travel wishlist problem too 😁

yay! congrats to you two lucky dawgs! hugs @amberyooper, well deserved my friend.