Pesto Pasta with Broccoli - Simple, Healthy & Delicious! Get your Greens in!

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)

This is definitely one of my favourite dishes. Not only is it easy, but its healthy, satisfying and filling too.

You can use one type of herb, or a mixture of herbs depending what you have available or can get.

Usually I just use basil, but I didn't have a bunch and wanted to use some herbs from my garden. My garden didn't have enough for just a basil pesto either, as its the peak of Summer in Brisbane and it is very hard to grow.

So I found a mixture of things growing pretty good. I found heaps of Parsley, Baby Kale , Thyme and a small amount of basil.

20180218_170021.jpg

You could add these too if you wanted for some more flavour and spice....... everytime i walk past I wish I wasn't such a sook... they look so good....

20180218_171200.jpg

First, get the water boiling for the pasta and throw it in the water with some salt once boiling.

Cook Until Tender. Drain.

Hint: Before draining get a cup and scoop out some of the pasta water and put aside for later. The water is full of starch and can be added to the pasta sauce to help it thicken and make it silky.

20180218_193344.jpg

Blend up or use a stick mixer to combine Herbs, a few cloves of Garlic, Salt, Cashews (can soak ahead of time if you need to) and some liquid to cover - milk, coconut cream, stock or water.

20180218_200717.jpg

Pour into the pot with the drained pasta and stir around on low/med heat until pasta is coated and sauce is hot. Add in pasta water that was set aside earlier.

20180218_200751.jpg

Boil some broccoli for a few minutes if you want to add some greens and protein.

20180218_201804.jpg

Sprinkle with some Vegan Cheese if you want to!

Did you see today's Daily Post? https://steemit.com/astrology/@christinevenus/daily-moon-and-planetary-forecast-saturday-24th-february-moon-in-gemini

Please UpVote, Resteem & Follow so you don't miss these each day! Keep informed :)

As Above, So Below.

Christine XOXO

christinevenus resteem.png

banner 2.png

Sort:  

haha the fluffy cat in the back ground

Haha one of many :D

Kittie photo bombs

Wow! It’s my first time to see a pesto pasta with brocolli. I wish I could grab it on the picture! Pesto is ❤️ Indeed. Thanks for this post. 😊