You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Indonesian recipe "Nasi tahu telur" (rice with tofu, eggs and vegetables showered with peanut sauce)

in #recipe6 years ago

Vegetarians normally still eat egg, it's vegans who don't eat anything comess from animals.
However, if you read my article thoroughly, you would definitely notice that I have already explained that egg as well as shrimp paste are optional.
So if you want to make it vegan, you can just skip those ingredients.
It would still taste as delicious.
Shrimp paste and eggs are not significant ingredients, it's only there for variety offered by the hawkers on the street or loved by people who are relatively wealthy.
Vegetarian foods are in general eaten by the poor people in our country because protein source from animal is too expensive for daily consumption.
So if you come to the villages, this food would normally be cooked without animal protein.
However I am not a vegetarian or vegan by ideology so I can always make my own combination depend on my mood. But most of my dishes could always be made for vegetarian or completely suitable for vegans without giving a significant change in taste.