Spicy clam stew recipe that's great on a cold night

in #recipe7 years ago

I love to eat well! Who doesn't?! But I also like to save money where I can while on my journey to being debt free and self sufficient.

This recipe makes four 1 cup servings. You can modify this with more half and half or less, to suit your tastes and needs.

1 can of minced or chopped Clams: $1.00 Starkist brand from the dollar store

Crackers: .30 ($1.50 for generic saltines, 4 sleeves to a box.)

4 cups Half and Half $1.50 (From a half gallon container that costs $3.00 and contains 8 cups) You can use milk, but this is creamier, in my opinion, and I usually have it on hand for my coffee.

Salt and pepper to taste. I don't add salt until I taste it with the crackers crumbled in it.

Dash of red pepper flakes. More if you want it spicier.

Cost for 4 servings is $2.80, not including tax. $3.00 USD with tax. Or $0.75 per serving.

Combine all ingredients in the pot you're using to cook with. Empty the entire can of clams, juice included, into the pot. Cover the pot and bring to a low boil. The clams are already cooked, you're just blending it all together and heating it up. Stir occasionally until it boils and then remove from the heat. About 10 minutes.

Serve with crackers.