AsiDeli #2 : Sambal aka Chili Paste

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

Sambal is one of South East Asian's delicacies.
Also known as chili paste, as the name suggests, the main ingredient is none other than chilies. :)
In my previous post, I did mentioned about sambal to be put on top of the Nasi Lemak.

Today, I would be sharing the recipe for making sambal with fellow Steemians.


Final.PNG

Ingredients:

  • 15 dried chilies soften by soaking under a bowl of warm water for 5 minutes. (Remember to cut them in between and remove the seeds.)
  • 3 chilies with seed removed
  • 3 gloves of garlic
  • 1 tablespoon of coconut milk
  • 1 teaspoon of tamarind paste
  • 1 shallot cut in slices
  • 20g of dried anchovies
  • Salt and sugar
  • 125ml of water
  • Oil

Ingredient.PNG


Procedures:

  1. Blend dried chilies, chilies, garlic and half of the dried anchovies together. You may add some water to ease the blending process.
  2. After finish blending, fry the remaining dry anchovies in hot oil till golden brown. (Crunchy texture would be perfect.)
  3. Set the fried anchovies aside to fry the blended paste. A deeper red color would be a good indication that it is ready.
  4. Add shallot and water into the paste.
  5. Stir for 3-4 minutes to thicken the paste before adding in coconut milk.
  6. Add in tamarind paste and the fried anchovies.
  7. Stir again for about 3 minutes before ready to be served.

EXTRA TIPS

If you can't finish the sambal in one go, you can always fill them in an air tight container and keep in fridge. When you want to eat sambal again, just reheat it for a minute in the oven.

Hope you enjoy this recipe and be brave to try it. Sambal is spicy and has the kick to increase your appetite. If you're a spicy food lover, this would be heaven for you :)

Sort:  

If you haven't Register your membership , please do so.

This post have been Prove Read , Upvoted & Manual Curated.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the Whale Power Community, Upvote , Reblogged , comment when ever you can.
Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

I did registered but somehow I seemed to miss some steps that @bullionstackers questioned me. Isn't is better if you are to inform me what have I missed?

Looks tasty! thanks for share the recipe. Greetings from México.

Maybe you can recommend some Mexican food for me to google it out?

You can see some in my blog. i'm a food blogger. But if you want to google it search for: Chile Relleno, Chile en nogada (Its a sweet one), taco al pastor, Pollo con mole, panucho, Torta Ahoagada, Enchiladas, Cemitas, Tlayudas, That's the dishes i can think right now. Have fun!

Woah! Looks tasty! I love chili as well, but not too much. Just the right amount is fine for me.

I remember I used to not able to handle chili when I was young. One day, my mum planted chili and I began to start eating them. LOL

I love sambal! It's way better than sriracha! I'm almost out though, maybe I can make some of my own following your recipe (or find a big enough jar if I can't find all the ingredients...)

You will find that eating your self cooked food will taste better. Even if it is already great, you will appreciate more; thus increasing its tastiness

Upvoted!
This looks really nice and captivating. Thanks for sharing the recipe

I see that you're a fellow food blogger too :)
Followed and definitely will take note of your future posts!

It is my pleasure to connect with my fellow blogger! I am following you already to keep connected. Let's steem on!
Cheers

This post have been Prove Read , Upvoted & Manual Curated.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the Whale Power Community, Upvote , Reblogged , Comment when ever you can.
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog - Please Read by Clicking

So, I am registered now?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Yorasu from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.