Delicious and easy green curried eggs recipe

in #recipes6 years ago (edited)

About four months ago, I posted a recipe for an easy way to jazz up your scrambled eggs with yellow curry. I loved this recipe so much, I made it often, and eventually ran out of yellow curry. I did have green curry though, so I adapted the original and have made some tweaks over time, so I thought I'd post my updated version.

I mention tomatoes in this recipe - they're not *really* necessary, but they do add nice texture, acidity, and color to an otherwise very green dish. I've made it plenty of times without tomatoes (due to laziness, lack of tomatoes, or both) and it tastes just fine. 

This recipe serves two.

Ingredients:

  • 6 pasture-raised organic eggs
  • 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons green curry paste
  • 2 Roma tomatoes*
  • 3 ounces baby spinach
  • 3/4 teaspoon turmeric 
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • crumbled goat cheese
  • handful of fresh basil
  • 2 medium cloves of garlic

* you can buy canned if pressed for time, just drain excess liquid off

Preparation:

  1. Core and dice the tomatoes 
  2. Finely chop, press, or grate the garlic using a zester. (I prefer zested for this.)
  3. Whisk the eggs, adding in salt, pepper, turmeric, paprika, and curry powder until it's well blended

Directions:

  1. Warm 1-2 tablespoons of butter or oil (I recommend butter) over medium-high heat until hot but not smoking
  2. Stir in the curry paste and garlic for about a minute, just enough to get it nice and fragrant
  3. Add the tomatoes and cook just long enough that they're warm
  4. Add the spinach and let it cook just long enough to wilt a little
  5. Add the eggs and cook (about 3-4 minutes if you like a wetter scramble, closer to 6 if you prefer a drier scramble). If you've gone heavier on the butter, it may take a little longer to get it to a dry scramble.
  6. Split the scramble into two plates, topping with the goat cheese and fresh basil

You may need to tweak the spice amounts to your taste. I tend to eyeball it, and I suspect I use a little more than I outlined here, but it's always easier to add more spices than it is to take them away :)

Give it a try and tell me what you think! I'd love to hear the outcome of your experimenting. I'm not a fancy cook by any means, but this is one of my favorite recipes.

Up next, my recipe for red curried eggs! :)