Steemit Record Pool / Song Of The Day / Charles Bradley / The World (Is Going Up In Flames)

in #recordpool6 years ago (edited)

My song of the day is The World by Charles Bradley. Charles was a powerful soul singer whose soul and emotions dripped over every track, laced into it's dna. He was discovered later in life after many years of struggle and singing while in anonymity. He recently passed away in September, and it struck me pretty hard. This track was one of the first that I heard of Charles and I feel it encapsulates his perspective and truth from his soul straight up.

I was able to see him perform at The Getty Museum in 2011, in the midst of his new found recognition. To watch him performing to the crowd baring his soul with ease and pure sincerity, all the while continually realizing by the second that a lifelong dream was unfolding in real time was nothing short of amazing. After his performance, we went to the side stage to share some appreciation, and when we greeted him, he met us with pure warmth, effusive gratitude, and a giant hug. He thanked us for coming to watch him and for coming to say hi. His humility in that moment still strikes me today. It's been one of my favorite memories of any musicians in my life, and I'm lucky to have experienced it. Rest In Power Charles!

charlesbradley.jpg

Photo from NY Daily News
Video from Youtube

Sort:  

Yeaaa, this was cool. I love singers who have that shredded sound to their vocals, dope! Appreciate you sharing it dude!

Yeah man, that raw and realness hits home. Thanks for checking it out!

Great song of the day he is very talented!

Thanks for checking it out, and yes he is one of a kind!

I've sampled this joint! RIP Charles Bradley. No matter the venue or circumstance, this man portrayed the definition of soul music.

Oh word?? You have that beat somewhere to check out? Yes man, he was a living definition!

You received an upvote from @MusicVoter due to the musical content of this post.

To find out how I decide who to up vote please READ THIS